C100 audio and Premiere CS6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems
For all Canon Cinema EOS models: C700 / C300 Mk. II / C200 / C100 Mk II and EF / PL lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 16th, 2013, 08:30 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manila
Posts: 317
C100 audio and Premiere CS6

Hello all, I did the usual googling and searching but came out empty, I hope this is just something totally obvious that I'm overlooking -

When I import my C100 footage into Premiere CS6 on a Mac, I get no audio. The track is there but it's flat, no wavform, as if there wasn't any. But only, there is, when I playback from the camera.

I do know that MTS has never played well with Premiere but it's 2013, surely that's changed.

Any help, links tips would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
C100 audio and Premiere CS6-screen-shot-2013-05-16-9.25.31-pm.png  
Jason Magbanua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2013, 09:32 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,241
Re: C100 audio and Premiere CS6

Perhaps a PCM audio issue?
__________________
Nate Haustein PXW-FS5 / iMac i7 / FCPX
www.flightcreativemedia.com
Nate Haustein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2013, 10:45 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Manila
Posts: 317
Re: C100 audio and Premiere CS6

Thanks Nate.

And the solution would be?
Jason Magbanua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2013, 11:50 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,241
Re: C100 audio and Premiere CS6

Sorry, I'm not sure. I don't use Premiere, but I've heard of LPCM being an issue before. Anyone else have a proven workflow? I see you're using the MTS files directly - is there another way to import the files?
__________________
Nate Haustein PXW-FS5 / iMac i7 / FCPX
www.flightcreativemedia.com
Nate Haustein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2013, 01:04 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: C100 audio and Premiere CS6

Although I've not dealt with C100 files in Premiere, a Premiere trainer suggested the below as a best-practices workflow for importing footage that originates on SD or CF cards. He said that this method provides the greatest assurance that if Premiere does fully support a cam, it would link up all metadata, merge clips that span files, and, yes, solve audio linking problems.

1) Consider file organization by creating appropriate directory structures, then copy the root-level contents of the flash card to your drive.

2) Do not use Premiere's Import. Don't navigate into the card contents using your OS and copy/paste files. Don't use OS drag and drop.

3) Do use the Media Browser in Premiere. Drag files *within Premiere*, from the Media Browser to the Source Monitor, to Bins, or to the Timeline.

That's it - try it and see if your audio works, and please post back!
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2013, 04:25 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 72
Re: C100 audio and Premiere CS6

I'm having a problem where I do get audio in Premiere, but I don't get audio when I play a clip in Windows Media Player, which is useful for when I want to check a clip before bringing it into Premiere.
Eric Coughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2013, 09:23 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3,259
Re: C100 audio and Premiere CS6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Coughlin View Post
I'm having a problem where I do get audio in Premiere, but I don't get audio when I play a clip in Windows Media Player, which is useful for when I want to check a clip before bringing it into Premiere.
I highly recommend VLC Media Player, it's free and up to date, and has easy playlist management and can actually bark like a dog or anything else you might want.

http://www.videolan.org/vlc/index.html

Windows Media Player has gotten better in recent editions, but it always seems to be behind the latest camera codecs.
__________________
30 years of pro media production. Vegas user since 1.0. Webcaster since 1997. Freelancer since 2000. College instructor since 2001.
Seth Bloombaum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2013, 10:51 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 72
Re: C100 audio and Premiere CS6

I've already got VLC Player, but was only using it to play DVD movies. Didn't think to try it for playing files from the camera. Audio works fine there. Thanks for the tip.
Eric Coughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2013, 09:11 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 309
Re: C100 audio and Premiere CS6

I too got a fright when I tried to view c100 files from my first wedding this year in windows media player and there was no sound!

All plays fine with vlc though , so it's a wmp issue.


Not sure about your issue Jason, I'm on a pc with cs5.0, and no issues with audio

My workflow

1 import files from card to hdd using canon software that came with c100.

2 drag imported mts files into premiere

3 interpret footage as progressive ( as premiere treats c100 25psf footage as interlaced )

4 wait for premier to 'conform' files *

5 edit


*if I drop a file from the bin to the timeline before its been conformed, there's no waveform , maybe something like that is your issue Jason?


James

Strangeworx.com
James Strange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2013, 05:57 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 72
Re: C100 audio and Premiere CS6

Come to think of it, I've had audio not show up in Premiere before (with various codecs). It was always a conforming issue. Sometimes it takes awhile for the clips to conform, and until they do, there's no audio. A couple times I thought the audio was missing, but eventually the clips conformed and the audio showed up. Perhaps that could be the problem. Or if the Premiere project is open and running for awhile, and it hasn't conformed, perhaps auto conforming was disabled somehow, if that's possible.
Eric Coughlin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network