Audio Recording Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2010, 12:07 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 43
Audio Recording Question

I have a pretty basic question regarding audio recording with my 7D. After finding out the auto gain issue the hard way, I have decided to record future audio (until I get a wireless audio recorder) on my old JVC HD7 since it picks up perfectly crisp audio and won't cost me another dime to use.

Since I shoot in 1080p24 on the 7D, and the JVC only records video at 30fps, will this affect the audio in any way as far as syncing is concerned? It doesn't seem as though it should make a difference, as the audio should just be real time regardless of video rate, but I just thought I'd check to see if anyone has any experience with any issues in this sense.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Last edited by Zachary Mattson; February 12th, 2010 at 12:59 PM.
Zachary Mattson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2010, 04:17 PM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I know people who have used a 60i video camera for audio with no problem when shooting 24p, so it does work. I use a Zoom H4N for double system sound and the sync is easy. What wireless recorder are you talking about? I didn't know there was one available.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2010, 04:44 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 43
Thanks for the info Bill!

I'm just referring to a portable device like the Zoom H4N. Obviously there are cords involved, but not connecting it to the camera. I've got my eye on this one seeing as it's only $110:

Ikey Audio | M-3 PORTABLE DIGI RECORDER w/SD CARD | M-3 | B&H

For now I'll just use the other cam for audio until I'm ready to drop more cash.

Thanks again!
Zachary Mattson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2010, 05:01 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Posts: 216
Marantz PMD 661

I just recorded a trumpet player in a downtown location with the 7D. As an audio system I use the Marantz 661 stereo 24bit recorder with a wireless G2 system. The results are great. Also, I have never had any sync issues in post.
You can watch the results at this link:

Hope this helps.

Carlo Zanella:
The Santa Fe TV Show
Carlo Zanella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2010, 05:02 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
If you record it on a camera at 30fps, you'll need to convert it to the correct frame rate, otherwise your sound will play too slow.
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2010, 09:56 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 43
Liam, so is that something that I could just do in MPEG Streamclip? Just pull the video that I used for audio and write it to 23.976? It seems weird to me that the audio would record at a different speed, but I guess that answers my question, thanks!
Zachary Mattson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 12:29 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liam Hall View Post
If you record it on a camera at 30fps, you'll need to convert it to the correct frame rate, otherwise your sound will play too slow.
Nope!

Its audio. Record your audio on your JVC HD7- dump it on your computer as a .wav file(or mp3 for the hd7?), hence no frame rate. .wav/mp3 files don't know diddly 'bout frame rates.


(You may have "sync drift" but that's a different story)
__________________
boxoutsidemedia.com
Mike Calla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 04:27 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
Mike, that's is what I mean by converting it.
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 11:11 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liam Hall View Post
Mike, that's is what I mean by converting it.
cool, but nothing to do with frame rates. Formats maybe - Converting from mp3 to .wav would make a wise choice to preserve to quality when adding ANY processing at all, even a level change!
__________________
boxoutsidemedia.com
Mike Calla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 05:33 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 43
Thanks Mike! I'll just rip it to mp3 on streamclip and drop it in Vegas. Thanks all for the help! Someday soon I'll have a dedicated audio recorder, but until then this should do the trick.
Zachary Mattson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2010, 01:50 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Shanghai
Posts: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Calla View Post
(..)Converting from mp3 to .wav would make a wise choice to preserve to quality when adding ANY processing at all, even a level change!
Hey Zachary,

like what i said above, i think the HD7 records in mp3 - but you SHOULD convert the .mp3 to .wav 44.1khz or 48khz 16bit.

With mp3s, even something simple such as a level change, any change in fact, can have noticeable ill effects.

Note: 48khz 16bit is best if you are collaborating with others, as its the standard audio format for video, buts its not necessary. Audio coverts to different uncompressed (.wav) sampling/bit rates quite well, and much easier than video, and Vegas's audio engine is bang on:)
__________________
boxoutsidemedia.com
Mike Calla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2010, 09:14 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 43
Good to know, I'll definitely follow this when writing out out to edit. thanks a lot!
Zachary Mattson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2010, 12:26 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 522
What set up and work flow would work best for a wedding videographer who uses Final Cut?

I want to shoot with a 7D with a Rode Shotgun mic for the ceremony and have a wireless G2 hooked up to the Groom connected with a Zoom H4n then sink it up in post. Is this possible? Would I need any other gear, cords? I also have a Canon HF20 that I could use as a second camera unmanned and possibly use that for recording audio? How do you monitor the audio when recording on a 7D etc.

Will I have drifting in the audio as well if I record in .WAV and 30p?

My other videographer is going to use an EX1 and Canon 5D, but he isn't always at all the weddings. Sometimes it will be just me.

Any tips?

Thanks!
Kelly Langerak is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network