Confusion in Slow Motion at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 16th, 2010, 06:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 368
Confusion in Slow Motion

I just got my 7D yesterday and am still playing with it but the video is beautiful and I have more control over shooting that I have with my video camera. For those of you using the 7D maybe you can help me out here.
I am shooting 30p with a shutter speed of 1/60 which is the normal shooting mode. However I would like to shoot some slow mo and I have been told in order to do that I would need to shoot 30p at a shutter speed of 1/120. When playing back I see no slow mo. Is this something I should do in editing software? Just make the speed 50% and it should look good because shooting at 1/120, and therefore I should have more data and therefore a smoother looking 50% slow mo?

Any direction is appreciated.
Jim Forrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2010, 06:34 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
Hey Jim, the shutter speed isn't controlling the frame rate. If you shoot 30 frames per second, that's what it will be in a 30 frames per second timeline. If you shoot 60 frames per second, you can have slower motion if you interpolate that footage at 30p instead of 60p. That will spread out those frames to be half-speed without frame blending.

I typically shoot 60p and reconform to play at 24p. On a Mac with Final Cut, I have to use Cinema Tools to do this. I know Premiere and After Effects will let you "interpolate" or change the play rate in the app and I think Avid can do the same.

Shutter speed only changes the amount motion blur.
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2010, 07:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St. Catharines Ontario
Posts: 69
Hey Jim,
Thanks for the question as I also learned this not that long ago... Just one note (Your sig says canon D7 when I think you meant to say Canon 7D?)
Cheers
:o)
Darrick Vanderwier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2010, 11:33 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 368
Yeah you are right...shows how new the camera is.

On slow mo I learning something else as well.

"You need to shoot at 720 60P and then when you import in the bin, right mouse click on the clip and choose property and change the frame rate to 29.97P and it will give you half speed after you place the clip on the timeline."
Jim Forrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2010, 08:32 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
You can also change the speed with a program like Twixtor... then you can remap the footage to how ever you want it to play....


RE:Vision Effects, Inc. : Products: Twixtor
Ray Bell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network