Should I still lock Exposure with new firmware? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 2nd, 2009, 10:10 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 17
Should I still lock Exposure with new firmware?

So with new firmware (in Manual Mode) is exposure lock still recommended to prevent corrupt data streams and dropped frames to the CF card?
Victor Bieganek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 10:30 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 336
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't remember being able to lock the exposure in manual mode? It would be nice if you could though to prevent accidentally bumping the dial and changing the exposure.
Ryan Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 10:54 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Mueller View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't remember being able to lock the exposure in manual mode? It would be nice if you could though to prevent accidentally bumping the dial and changing the exposure.
You're right (unless I'm also wrong), the * button doesn't lock exposure in manual mode.
Josh Dahlberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 11:04 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Minneapolis, USA
Posts: 17
Thanks for the replies. I see I need to spend more time with the manual mode operations.
Victor Bieganek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2009, 11:20 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
You can move the on/off switch to the first (lower) ON position... that'll lock the thumb dial so you won't bump the aperture. You'd still be able to accidentally knock the shutter speed though.

Julian
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2009, 10:22 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Zanesville OH
Posts: 205
So it possible to lock the exposure in Manual mode now? I was filming yesterday and I panned from a bright area, into a dark area, and the exposure changed automatically. This isn't good. Anybody got a solution?
__________________
"Warriors... Come out to play..."
www.importexporthd.com
Douglas Joseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8th, 2009, 10:36 PM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Douglas, if you're getting an exposure change in Manual mode, check to make sure that ISO isn't set to Auto.

The Exposure Lock button has no effect in Manual mode because Manual mode already is exposure locked, by definition.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2009, 11:02 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Zanesville OH
Posts: 205
That's it, Chris! Thanks, buddy. Some weight just lifted off my shoulders.
__________________
"Warriors... Come out to play..."
www.importexporthd.com
Douglas Joseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 9th, 2009, 01:10 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Doug: I forgot about setting up the proper settings in Live View mode, after I did a reset on the camera the other day. In Live view setting you need to be sure to select movie over exposure simulation in sub menu after selecting movie and still mode. Otherwise, camera continues to act as if it is automatic, even in the M mode.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 01:07 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Douglas, if you're getting an exposure change in Manual mode, check to make sure that ISO isn't set to Auto.
This is the exact reason Canon should have left Exposure Lock functional in M mode. I do a lot of run/gun photography (and now some video) in indoor available light venues, so that capability would be really handy as I almost always in those scenarios set/lock to my widest aperture with 1/50th, and then use ISO from there. If * worked, I could have just easily press ed it again whenever I needed to change ISO, and then I know it would be locked again. However, at the end of the day, all it would have done was to have simplified the slightly cumbersome ISO change to a button push, so not that big of a deal I guess, but still...
Bill Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 10th, 2009, 01:36 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
It would be great if a future version of Magic Lantern firmware would let us implement AE Lock, or swap the control of shutter and ISO. For video, shutter is the last thing we need to touch. Aperture and ISO and the two most important controls.

The reason that ISO lock and unlock would be nice is that Auto ISO is very nicely implemented with a smooth transition. It would be cool to be able to lock for one scene, move the camera to a lighter or darker view, unlock for a smooth transition, then re-lock. It would be great for a reality show look going from a basement to a sunny backyard. (And yes, this situation is rare and not everybody would tolerate this look - but for some, it's ideal.)

Having the top wheel available for ISO rather than shutter would be great for quick setups, but could never be used live as it adjusts in steps.

Sure, there are variable NDs, but you lose some light even when adjusted for maximum transmission.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network