DIY cable video remote for the 5D2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 9th, 2009, 11:53 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garden Grove CA
Posts: 239
DIY cable video remote for the 5D2

I am in the middle of building a shoulder rig for my 5D2 for videoing and remembered I saw this for all the HDV cams that didn't have a lank jack.

I had a RC-1 remote from a Canon XTI and in mode one on the 5D2 it will snap a pic but on mode 2 it starts and stops video. Well I bought a 3ft optical toslink cable and put it up to the remote and the other end on the top sensor on the front of the cam and it works.

I plan on using this when I build my shoulder rig to be able to record this with my finger on one of the handles instead of reaching back to hit the set button.

Forgive me if everyone knows about this allready, I didn't see it.

Here is a proof of concept video
DIY 5DmarkII video remote on Vimeo
or
YouTube - DIY 5D2 video remote
__________________
My videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/lucasberg
Joey Atilano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2009, 08:42 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 991
Hey cool finding! So mode 2 on this remote emulates the "SET" button? I didn't know any remotes out there that did this.. I thought it was only the shutter button. BTW I don't think anyone knew about this, otherwise, we'd see those DSLR rig manufactures showing off a remote like this for their rigs.
Yang Wen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2009, 11:18 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beijing
Posts: 665
Guys, this is old news. I think Vincent Laforet was the first to blog about this shortly after the camera came out. I use a remote on my rig all the time, you can see it here http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/1152694-post7.html

Theres another discussion here http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/canon-eos...s-release.html

As for wiring I think this solution is better than using a toslink cable http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/canon-eos...r-control.html

Dan
Dan Chung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2009, 12:26 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Garden Grove CA
Posts: 239
Thanks Dan, I had read the remote worked from a post you wrote somewhere. I was saying I had not seen the optical cable to extend the range of the remote.

I will stick to my version that was $5 for the cable and keep my remote in regular working order so I can still use it on my 2 cams.
__________________
My videos
http://www.youtube.com/user/lucasberg
Joey Atilano is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network