GL2 Remove Cassette Error Fix - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 16th, 2003, 07:32 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 473
I second the comment about humidity causing problems. Just returned from Jamaica where I shot a wedding (Not by choice, it was my brother-in-laws!, how does this always happen?). Hotel room was nice and cool and the humidity was reasonable due to the AC. As soon as I walked outside (where the wedding was being held) I would get the "EJECT TAPE" warning. Solved the problem by removing the tape and GENTLY warming the drive/heads and the tape with a blow dryer. Also hit the lens just to prevent it from fogging up. New experience for me since here in Flagstaff today the humidity is 7%. Not sure this is something I would want to do on a regular basis but it worked.
Rob Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2003, 08:50 PM   #17
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
> ...I also tried to rewind the Fuji tape by hand - the tape mechanism was stucked, jammed. On all (10) Fuji tapes!...

Are you sure? The tape reels are "locked" by an automatic reel-lock mechanism when the tape is not loaded in a camcorder.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2003, 03:46 AM   #18
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: slovenia
Posts: 3
<<<-- Originally posted by Don Palomaki : > ...I also tried to rewind the Fuji tape by hand - the tape mechanism was stucked, jammed. On all (10) Fuji tapes!...

Are you sure? The tape reels are "locked" by an automatic reel-lock mechanism when the tape is not loaded in a camcorder. -->>>

Yes, I am sure. There is a little knob (I dont know which other word could I use) in the middle of the cassette - I pushed that knob and turned the weel of the cassette. And it really was blocked and hard to move - the tape started to squeal, but after a few turns it went on smoothly.

And like Rob, it happend on a wedding to me too. Moving from car with AC to the sun, shooting outside, moving to hotel with AC... No wonder! But now I know: essential equipment includes blow dryer.
Thank you all for your help.
Anton Ber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2004, 07:01 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lee's Summit, Missouri
Posts: 146
REMOVE CASSETTE error

My GL2 refuses to rewind tapes now. last week I had the REMOVE CASSETTE error occur once when I tried to rewind a tape. I didnt think it was a big deal because I removed the tape and it worked fine after that. However, now It won't even rewind. It will give me the error each time before it even gets going. Anyone know why this is happening?

The heads have been cleaned recently... and for those of you who are against using the GL2 as a VCR: I am too, but my cheapo JVC camera just died on me, so I had to use the GL2 for the time being.
__________________
www.interactiverecipes.com
Chris Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2004, 04:46 PM   #21
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 21
Remove the cassette..ARG!!!!

What is the best way to solve this problem. My camera is paralyzed!! I did a search on the subject but nothing useful in my case. I don't want to have to send my camera to NEw jersey for a big buck repair I don't have to. Its only 13 months old. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Chris Dornack@hotmail.com
Chris Dornack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2004, 07:50 PM   #22
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I don't understand what your issue is. Can you explain in detail what you're trying to do?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2004, 10:40 AM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bjelovar, Croatia
Posts: 153
I'm afraid you'll have to send camera to service...feel sorry for you.
__________________
XM2
Sony DXC637P BetaSP
Darko Flajpan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2004, 11:21 AM   #24
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 21
remove cassete error message

THis message appears every time i place a cassette in the camera. Any easy things that could be wrong to correct the problem?
__________________
Chris Dornack@hotmail.com
Chris Dornack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2004, 11:24 AM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 96
Try a reset

From your post I can't tell what you are experiencing or which camera you have. However, before sending you camera off to repair, you might try pushing the reset button. If you have a GL1, open the LCD. Among the buttons in the recessed area you will set a small reset button. Use a pen or other small object to push the reset button. My GL2 is at home so I cannot verify if the button is in the same location, but it probably is. There is just a chance the reset button will get you going again.
__________________
Mike Donley
Mike Donley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2004, 12:27 PM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 81
Chris,

Just out of curiosity, what brand of tapes are you using? Some people have a theory that the Sony tapes are more likely to cause this problem....

Keep us updated on any solutions you might find. And if you end up sending it to Jersey, let us know how much it costs to fix. I know some people are trying to get together a class-action lawsuit about this issue, but I doubt it'll happen.

FYI: my camera does the same thing. It records fine, but can't rewind or fast forward through tapes. I've just started using a cheapo camera for playback, since I don't have the time between projects to send the GL2 in for repair.

Good luck!
Ryan
Ryan Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2004, 04:34 PM   #27
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 21
GL2

Its a GL2 and yes i have used nothing but SONY premium tapes since day one, I have cleaned the heads not that long ago but that did no seem to help. I even got "remove the cassette" recently when i put the head cleaning tape in. Damn this sucks!!
__________________
Chris Dornack@hotmail.com
Chris Dornack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2004, 04:41 PM   #28
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 21
i will try the reset button tonight!
__________________
Chris Dornack@hotmail.com
Chris Dornack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2004, 02:03 AM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Posts: 29
Well, it sounds like you better send in the camera for repair. I have had this message as well and I could just eject the tape, put it in again and it worked again. That happenend several times, even after cleaning the heads. Then suddenly the tape got eaten, damaged.
Then I did not trust anymore my camera and I read here about this problem and I send it in. Service was very good and within 2 weeks I got my camera back, fully functional again. I have no what they repaired since I cannot understand the repair codes and I cannnot find them on internet.
By the way, I was using only JVC tapes and my camera got this problem after about 14 months. Well actually it does not matter when the problems starts, not everyone is using the camera as much as others do.
For your information, the repair cost me about $160
Hope your problems get solved soon
Joris Beverloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2004, 03:41 AM   #30
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Geraldine, NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 88
Just got my camera back after it's second time in for repair. It most definetly is nothing to do with the brand of tape you are using.
1st repair NZ$155 (after only 5 tapes use),
2nd repair NZ$420 after only 3 more tape put thru, 8 tapes use since new! (haggled down from more than $500).
The second time they replaced the tape carriage recorder unit.
Talk about annoying!!
Colin Rayner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network