Broadcast video with GL2 and output to beta? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Canon GL Series DV Camcorders
Canon GL2, GL1 and PAL versions XM2, XM1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 27th, 2003, 10:58 AM   #1
Tyler Parkerson
 
Posts: n/a
Broadcast video with GL2 and output to beta?

Looking to bring editing of broadcast shows in house.
shooting with GL2, editing with Avid XpressDV 3.5

The network that we will be sending the tapes to will only take beta. So the goal is to edit it send it back to MiniDV and take the final to a another editing company to be transfered to Beta, they will charge about $100 for transfer. we will have about 12 shows to do, so spending the money on a beta deck does not make sence.
what I would like to know is this going to work, :)
and can I do all my timecode and have it transferd to beta?
If anyone has any suggestions or comments even if you think its a realy dumb idea, hammer away!!
thanks!!
  Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2003, 11:42 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
I would shop around for another price... I don't know your market but to me $100 for a one-hour transfer to Beta seems kind of high... but maybe it isn't.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2003, 12:42 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 86
wow

WOW, to me that is alot also. I do some 30 sec. promos & commercials and I found a place that only charges like $5-10 for the 5 min. tape. See if you can workout something with the company. Maybe you can buy the tapes and they charge for transfer... 1 hr BetaSP tape are like $14-15 now a days.

Just a thought...

Tustin
Tustin Larson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2003, 07:46 PM   #4
Machinist Mate
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Southern Connecticut
Posts: 644
I just paid $25 for a Beta dub --about 20 minutes TRT. (what the heck is there to it...just push the record button!)
__________________
I ain't straight outta Compton, I'm straight out the trailer. Cuss like a sailor, drink like a Mc. My only words of wisdom are just, "Radio Edit."
Mike Butler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2003, 10:53 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lethbridge, Alberta
Posts: 15
We output our GL2 footage to beta for broadcast everyday using a Datavideo DAC-2 converter. The only issue we are having is the box adds about 10% saturation to the beta recording, so we compensate in FCP.

You may also not be able to transfer the exact timecode if you are manually starting the playback deck when the record deck is rolling.
Jim McNally is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon GL Series DV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:22 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network