Sony Vegas Intensity Capture Question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 23rd, 2008, 05:38 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
Sony Vegas Intensity Capture Question

I have an HV20 that I am looking to capture footage from via a Decklink Intensity using Vegas.

Anybody got any tips as I am having no luck so far. As far as I am concerned I have my preferences set correctly.
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 30th, 2008, 04:28 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
For capturing using Vegas, use the "DV" recording option to capture uncompressed from the card in HD.

But Blackmagic Media Express can make compressed MJPG if you don't have a RAID. You can also use Cineform's capture program to capture to one drive.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 2nd, 2008, 04:29 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Zhang View Post
For capturing using Vegas, use the "DV" recording option to capture uncompressed from the card in HD.

But Blackmagic Media Express can make compressed MJPG if you don't have a RAID. You can also use Cineform's capture program to capture to one drive.
Cheers Jack. WOW...uncompressed=HUGE files!
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 12:10 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 566
Sorry for the newb question, but what's the difference in capturing HV30 footage thru HDMI and firewire? I do not have the BM Intensity card, and I've just been capturing thru firewire (using Cineform). And like Alistair mentioned, are the footage uncompressed files (1920x1080???)?

Part of the reason I'm asking is for when I upgrade my PC/NLE for next year.

Best,
__________________
--JA
Jeff Anselmo is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network