HF11 Capture in FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 15th, 2008, 06:20 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
HF11 Capture in FCP

Hello,

i have got a nEw HF11, I have spent the last 5 hrs tring to find a post on how to capture the footage into FCP, Tried stream clip no good, i get file open error:unrecognized file type. So can some one tell me how to capture into FCP, I realy just want a quick and easy way to get my video into FCP.

The only conection is USB ? and when i look in Capture setting all they say is Firewire ?

I have the latest FCP on my Mac Pro.
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 07:48 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Okay, I am not a FCP or Mac user, but you shouldn't be capturing per se. You are simply transferring the files from the flash drive to your hard drive and working them into your editing program. It should basically be drag and drop, and the flash drive on the camera will show up as a drive. Some editors, will require some type of rewrap or transcoding from that file format, which I believe is basically mpg4.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 08:34 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, Ohio and SLC, Utah
Posts: 69
I have an HF10 and I just use the log and capture in Final Cut Express

It takes a minute for the program to have the various clips appear so depending on how much you have recorded you may need to wait a bit.

Then I just select the clips I want and import than. I am a novice so I might not be using the correct terms.

Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Bale View Post
Hello,

i have got a nEw HF11, I have spent the last 5 hrs tring to find a post on how to capture the footage into FCP, Tried stream clip no good, i get file open error:unrecognized file type. So can some one tell me how to capture into FCP, I realy just want a quick and easy way to get my video into FCP.

The only conection is USB ? and when i look in Capture setting all they say is Firewire ?

I have the latest FCP on my Mac Pro.
Mike Brice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 09:19 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Chris, yes, capture/drag and drop i under stand, it has MTS files on the card and FCP will not support them, yes a wrapper would be good,

Mike can you tell me your work flow,

thanks rob.
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 11:23 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, Ohio and SLC, Utah
Posts: 69
I do it one of two ways. I will be basic, because that's all I know.

Typical:
Start iMovie
Plug in camera
Turn on camera
Turn to play movie mode
Camera asks on camera screen if I want printer or PC mode.
Select PC mode
iMovie says its generating thumbnails.
iMovie asks if I want to import.
I select all and import...

Then I can either edit it iMovie or export XML for Final Cut.


Other method:
Plug in camera
Turn on camera
Turn to play movie mode
Camera asks on camera screen if I want printer or PC mode.
Select PC mode
Open Final Cut
Select under file - log and transfer
Wait a few minutes
Clips on left
View on right
Select clips - typically I select them all
Capture

Hope this helps. Sorry if this is basic, but I am a still shooter so the video is new to me. Mainly using it for family stuff and small web clips for promo.

Thanks
Mike


Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Bale View Post
Chris, yes, capture/drag and drop i under stand, it has MTS files on the card and FCP will not support them, yes a wrapper would be good,

Mike can you tell me your work flow,

thanks rob.
Mike Brice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 11:24 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Hi Mike,
what folder do u import from ? when i open log and transfer nothing happens
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2008, 12:02 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, Ohio and SLC, Utah
Posts: 69
I click on the main folder in the canon drive that has mounted to my desktop.

It takes a few minutes for the log and transfer to read through the folders and assemble the clips.

Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Bale View Post
Hi Mike,
what folder do u import from ? when i open log and transfer nothing happens
Mike Brice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2008, 01:03 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
Thanks anyway,

Nothing happens.

MMM?
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2008, 10:43 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 9
Its my understanding that AVCHD requires a mac with an Intel processor...I've been told the earlier processor simply won't work with this format. It could be this is what thwarts you.

Hope I am wrong...

Michael
Michael Hintlian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2008, 10:50 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 9
Sorry for the confusion...I read in your signature equipment list "G5", but you say in the first post you have a Mac Pro which is an Intel Mac, right? If so, the architecture isn't the problem.
Michael Hintlian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 12:23 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 407
yes, i have a mac pro, everything is up to date, i have no idea why it will not work :-(
__________________
Rob.
www.rpbproductions.com
robert@rpbproductions.com

HD101/G5 Mac/4gig Ram/1TB HDD/30" Cinema Display/FCP.
Robert Bale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2008, 03:35 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Dana Point, CA
Posts: 9
What version of FCP?

Intel Mac
Latest version FCP or FCE
camera FW to mac FW
camera placed in play back mode and PC selected for transfer

"Log and transfer"

All files should appear in new window for viewing. BTW, large files can, and will take much time to transfer...lots and lots of time on the mac book pro.

Another program VoltaicHD at shedworx.com can convert AVCHD files to AIC format for usage in FCP...trial download available...and they are located down under.
Don Maldos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2008, 04:45 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Bale View Post
yes, i have a mac pro, everything is up to date, i have no idea why it will not work :-(
I did have a similar experience with my hf100 and FCP. The problem for me was that the log and transfer function didnīt indicate it was doing anything. I did select the avchd folder and clicked "open" but nothing ever happened; or so it seemed. No indication of activity, just dead. After a while, the clips just appeared in the upper left window.
This is a bit confusing because Iīd like to have some sort of response.
Anyway, you might try selecting the avchd folder in log and transfer; then taking a coffee break even though nothing seem to be happening. When you come back you just might have the clips, thatīs what happened to me. Strange...
__________________
All the things I use should probably be listed here
Mika Tertsunen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network