Hv 20 and HDMI output at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 8th, 2009, 08:46 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Posts: 76
Hv 20 and HDMI output

I am thinking of buying an hv 20 or 10/30 as a playback deck for my A1 footage. I have a Blackmagic Etreme HD card with HDMI input. Right now, I can only capture with the A1 using the component output into the card. (or firewire directly into FCP) Would using the HV with its HDMI output be a better solution? I am shooting in HD but final project is delivered in Beta SP. My SD footage right now is captured via component as prores hq. Thanks!
Brandon Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2009, 09:59 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Yes, capturing through the HDMI will be better because it won't have to go through a Digital-to-Analog-to- Digital conversion. It will be all digital.

Of note though is the HDMI on the HV will always transmit 29.97, even if you shoot in 24F.

If your source footage is 24F, your better off capturing with firewire as it won't add a 3:2 pulldown.

Hope that helps!
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2009, 10:45 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Unless I'm missing something, you will never get better quality than transferring your video to the computer via 1394. It's a bit for bit copy of the digital information on the tape. There might be valid reasons for transferring via the HDMI connection, but it won't give you any better quality.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 04:50 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
I agree with Tripp. It only makes sense to use HDMI if you are doing a tethered capture and bypassing the HDV tape compression. If you are capturing from tape you should use FW.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 10th, 2009, 01:21 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Posts: 76
Well I am wanting to capture via my BM card which doesnt support firewire, only HDMI. It seems that I will save a ton of time by capturing through the card as prores hq rather than via firewire and then having to convert in FCP. Am I off base?
Brandon Carter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 02:41 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 40
Here's a question. I know it has been asked in some other threads, but I don't believe anyone really weighed in on it. How would the HV40 (or HFS10 for that matter) going HDMI out to a nanoFlash compare to a stock XHA1? For both rigs, the cost would be about the same, but you would get high quality CineForm codec 4:2:2, etc., from the HV/HFS setup. Anyone know of any comparisons done in respect to this. I've seen some that compare the stock HV/HFS to the stock XHA1, but not an HDMI CineForm or similar feed from the former.

Any thoughst?

Also, I know the HDMI is not 24F, but can you reclaim footage shot in 24F through pulldown in post, or can you only capture 29.97 (or is it 60i)?
Trip Gould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2009, 11:03 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon Carter View Post
Well I am wanting to capture via my BM card which doesnt support firewire, only HDMI. It seems that I will save a ton of time by capturing through the card as prores hq rather than via firewire and then having to convert in FCP. Am I off base?
Actually, Final Cut Pro has an option to capture HDV footage and convert to ProRes upon capture. That will save you far more time than capturing through HDMI and having to do a reverse telecine afterwards to bring it back to 24P.

This is all under the impression you are shooting 24P of course.

If 60i, then yes, you can capture through your HDMI card and capture straight to ProRes.
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:11 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network