Firestore w/HV10~ anyone? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 29th, 2006, 01:57 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Firestore w/HV10~ anyone?

I know this is a bit weird seeing as how the FS-4 is actually bigger then the HV10 itself- but has anyone used a HV10 w/FS-4 for HDV capture?
Any issues- how did it work out?
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2006, 06:50 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Well I went out and bought a HV10 and hooked it up to the FS-4 but the FS-4 wont trigger via the camera's rec buttons- so this is a hiccup with use- I'll post this question over at the DTE Firestore forums.....if anyone here is using a FS-4 with a HV10- I'd love to hear how it's going.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2006, 02:59 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Australia
Posts: 267
Steve,

Thanks for the info. Keep us informed of any findings :)
__________________
Welcome... to the real world!
Daymon Hoffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2006, 11:05 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Va
Posts: 5
Happily Surprised

I just captured video off my HV10 without having the tape running... I had the camera plugged in via firewire to my computer and had HDV Split recording.

-=Bryan
Bryan James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2006, 05:02 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Montpellier France
Posts: 5
Can you record that way in 1920x1080?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan James
I just captured video off my HV10 without having the tape running... I had the camera plugged in via firewire to my computer and had HDV Split recording.

-=Bryan
Great!
That's what I wanted to hear!!!

Can you record that way in 1920x1080?
Since there's no tape involved I suppose it would be logical to get full resolution (= no need to use HDV limited resolution!)

(I'm waiting for my HV10 to arrive today or monday!)


- mic
Michel Coste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2006, 06:41 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Va
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michel Coste
Great!
That's what I wanted to hear!!!

Can you record that way in 1920x1080?
Since there's no tape involved I suppose it would be logical to get full resolution (= no need to use HDV limited resolution!)

(I'm waiting for my HV10 to arrive today or monday!)


- mic
Sorry... it appears to do the 1440x1080i compressed format.. not really too surprising though... it still needs to process the video before it can send it down the firewire pipe...

-=Bryan
Bryan James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 08:22 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Va Beach, Va
Posts: 241
Any new user reviews concerning this?

This tapeless option seems like a nice future add-on to me.

How long does the stock battery last in the FS-4HD?
Brad Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2007, 02:38 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Brad, The Firestore FS4HD DOES capture HDV as M2T files BUT the camera (as many consumer cameras) doesn't transmit the proper "dv rec" signal via IEEE1394 so it wont trigger the Firestore to record- you'll have to press the "Rec" button the Firestore unit itself to intiate the recording. So while it's possible to have a "tapeless" workflow it's a bit cumbersome- but it WILL work (I tested it myself.)

(Note: higher end camcorders do use a "DV rec" signal and will actually trigger the Firestore to stop/start recording remotely!)

Also note you'll need to convert the files to a format that's native to your NLE again taking away from the workflow- this transcoding is processor intensive and does take some time- results will vary on drive speed and CPU performance.
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network