Capture errors/Playback drops frame, stops at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 3rd, 2007, 11:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
Capture errors/Playback drops frame, stops

Hello

I just picked up the HV10. I like it alot picture wise, but having a little problem capturing and in playback.

15", 1.25ghz, G4 PowerBook. FCP 5.0.4.

Sequence Preset: HDV - 1080i60

Capture Preset: HDV

Device Control: HDV Firewire

Capture

When I batch capture I get errors and splitting of the capture file into several. When I retried it broke into different length files.

I saw in another post that changing capture to Firewire Basic corrected that. I don't see Firewire Basic in my Capture Preset options.

In Easy Setup I chose HDV - 1080i60 and Sony HDV Firewire is the default (as stated in the post) but in audio/video settings I don't see the Firewire Basic option.


Playback

After capturing 3 minutes for a test I could play in Viewer but not in the Sequence. I could see it being processor speed or video card, but why play in Viewer and not Sequence? And I don't see another appropriate Sequence Setting.

Any ideas?

thanks,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 05:48 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Torino (Italy)
Posts: 22
Wrong timecode

I found the same problem with my new HV10. I tried with Sony Vegas and HDVSplit: with both I get my footage splitted in an amount of very short clips and the batch capture doesn't work at all.
This seems to be due to a wrong timecode reading by the software, however the timecode itself is correctly displayed on the PC screen during the whole capturing.
The only solution I found is to capture manually using Sony Vegas, however it happens sometimes that the footage gets splitted in two parts even if the automatic splitting is disabled, with no apparent reason, leaving a little gap between the two parts.
Marco Durando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 11:31 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 319
This thread talks about that issue, I think it might help.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=80552

Or maybe start a new thread and ask your question.

best,
elmer
Elmer Lang is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network