Playback through Composite at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders
For VIXIA / LEGRIA Series (HF G, HF S, HF and HV) consumer camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 14th, 2007, 07:54 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 292
Playback through Composite

I can't get my HV10 to playback on 4:3 TV with only composite in. Any solutions?
Greg Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 08:12 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
Posts: 138
There's a setting in the play mode menu for SD out, I believe it's called DV out. Did you set the cam to that?
Rich Dykmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 01:29 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Victoria BC
Posts: 400
Can the HV10/HV20 do real time conversion of HD to SD out? (Like a Sony Z1U/FX1 does.)

Say I shoot a HD scene, and don't have an HDTV nearby, can I set it to down-scale the footage so I can jack it into an SDTV and watch? (Letterboxed or cropped as the SDTV is 4:3).

Thanks.
__________________
Mac + Canon HV20
Robert Ducon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 02:08 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 101
Robert, Yes, according to Chris's overview:
http://www.hdvinfo.net/articles/cano...rehv10hv20.php

I would hope that it would output full resolution anamorphic instead of letterboxed.
Pieter Jongerius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 06:16 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Discovery Bay, CA
Posts: 138
It's letterboxed.
Rich Dykmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 02:05 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 101
Bummer.

Ah well they must have thought - this is the compatibility mode, let's make it compatible.
Pieter Jongerius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 10:15 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 123
You should be able to set the TV Type in playback settings, eg 16:9 or 4:3, for composite and ?component outputs... can't test right now as I can't find my video cable :-P

But, you should be able to play 16:9 format video in either letterboxed on 4:3 TVs, or normal on 16:9 TVs, just set output to match the TV type.
I don't think it would have an option to zoom/crop ws video to 4:3 tv, only letterbox...

manual p34: Play/Out Setup:
"NORMAL TV], [ WIDE TV]
In order to display the picture in full and in
the correct aspect ratio, select the setting
according to the type of television to
which you will connect the camcorder.
[NORMAL TV]: TV sets with 4:3 aspect ratio.
[WIDE TV]: TV sets with 16:9 aspect ratio.

You can set the component output to be 480i or 1080i.

p59:
"Playback on a TV Screen
The quality of the playback picture will
vary depending on the connected TV and
the type of connection used.
Change the following settings as
necessary before making the
connections. Refer to the corresponding
explanation of each setting in the
PLAY/OUT SETUP menu option list ( 34).
- [PLAYBACK STD] to select the output video standard.
- [TV TYPE] to match the output video to the aspect ratio of the connected TV.
- [COMP.OUT] to select the video specifications when using connection type .
- [DV OUTPUT] to select the standard of the output video when using connection type ."
Colin Gould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2007, 12:06 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 167
That is correct. You can playback HV10 HD footage to an SD TV and it down converts in real time. Either letterboxed 16:9 or full 4:3. The full mode is squeezed vertically to allow the entire frame.
Kevin A. Sturges is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2007, 10:06 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 292
Still no picture

I started this thread and thank you for all your suggestions but when I connect the HV10 to Normal TV it will only playback sound no picture. This Toshiba 4:3 TV has three settings TV, Video 1 and Video 2.
Greg Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2007, 10:35 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Foster City, CA
Posts: 123
Sorry your post got kind of hijacked!
Perhaps the video cable isn't fully plugged in? It has an extra contact around the barrel for the video signal, along w/ normal stereo minijack contacts, and might not be in far enough to contact... ?
Otherwise, there may also be a setting on your TV to select S-Video or composite in, maybe it's on SVideo?
Colin Gould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2007, 06:58 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Surprise Arizona
Posts: 292
It works

On this Toshiba TV the only way it would work was hooking it up to Video 2 not Video 1. Strange. Thanks for your help.
Greg Clark is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XA and VIXIA Series AVCHD Camcorders > Canon VIXIA Series AVCHD and HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network