On / Off switch on XF300. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Canon XF Series HD Camcorders
Canon XF305, XF205 and XF105 (with SDI), Canon XF300, XF200 and XF100 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 3rd, 2010, 08:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Watchung New Jersey
Posts: 50
On / Off switch on XF300.

Hi,
I can't believe I did this. The on / off switch is bit 'squirelly', to say the least. The other day we shut the camera off. Came back the next day to a dead battery! Turns out, I inadvertently switched it to "media" (or it slid thru the 'OFF' position).

Would you believe, my assistant made the same mistake today! I think whenever we switch the camera off - we're gonna check it in the viewfinder . . . to be sure we did what we think we did!

I wonder why Canon doesn't have an 'auto-off' default setting that shuts everything down after a few minutes of inactivity - like most cameras seem to?
Larry
Larry Cohen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2010, 10:00 PM   #2
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,481
QUOTE: Would you believe, my assistant made the same mistake today!

Of course I would! It's the worst on/off switch I've ever seen on any piece of gear -- ever. I can never slide it the center postion on the first try. POS.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2010, 02:11 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
Well if it's worse than the EX1 / EX3 switch (and Doug will certainly know those well!) it really must be BAD. Maybe you'll need to take the battery off every time to be totally sure you don't keep repeating this mistake. Once, in the early days, I left my EX3 in it's bag for hours whilst on - and boy it was hot when I went to get it out again (still works flawlessly).
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2010, 05:47 AM   #4
Vortex Media
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New England, USA
Posts: 2,481
Yeah, it's a lot worse than the EX1 switch. And you bring up another pet peeve about the XF305. The battery is hidden hunder a cover at the rear of the camerra so you can't even glance at the camera and know if it has a battery attached or not. I agree that the cover makes the camera look nice and sleek, but it also makes the camera more difficult to work with.
__________________
Vortex Media http://www.vortexmedia.com/
Sony FS7, F55, and XDCAM training videos, field guides, and other production tools
Doug Jensen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2010, 02:19 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
When I saw the switch I thought "Oh good it's got a center lock like the new EX1R switch". But the operation is different and doesn't make sense. You have to push down the green tab whenever you move it, even moving it in to the off position, this means there is nothing to stop it in the center off position so it shoots across to the opposite side. The EX1R switch can be pushed to off without pressing the button, which then locks the switch in the off position. The original EX1 and EX3 switches were pretty poor but this one deserves an award!

And don't get me on to the battery.......

I don't remember having any of these issues with my H1 and the DSLR's are all well thought out. There are a few bits that seem like a rush job which is a great shame because overall it's a very nice piece of kit.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2010, 07:20 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Ironically, Canon engineering has years of R&D invested in developing and evolving its wonderful rotating switch that first appeared in the XL1 but has now been replaced in the XF by cheap little switches scattered all over. This switch strikes me as having been tragically engineering by MBAs.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2010, 03:30 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Bracknell, Berkshire, UK
Posts: 4,957
It's just amazing that Sony could go from a nice rotary switch as used on the Z1, PD100 etc. to a dodgy slide switch on the EX1 (I know... different factories... different design team) only for Canon to make the same mistake a couple of years later.
__________________
Alister Chapman, Film-Maker/Stormchaser http://www.xdcam-user.com/alisters-blog/ My XDCAM site and blog. http://www.hurricane-rig.com
Alister Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network