Could this technique be used to sync the timecode of XF100's? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Canon XF Series HD Camcorders
Canon XF305, XF205 and XF105 (with SDI), Canon XF300, XF200 and XF100 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 2nd, 2012, 12:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 51
Could this technique be used to sync the timecode of XF100's?

XL2 Free Run Time Code as an External Sync by Chris Hurd

The basics:

1. Put two or more cameras in time code in Free Run mode.

2. Use single remote control to reset all the cameras at once.
David Trayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2012, 06:51 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Laguna Woods CA
Posts: 53
Re: Could this technique be used to sync the timecode of XF100's?

Could this work?????
__________________
Regards
Mike
Mike Ayotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 25th, 2012, 03:03 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Hastings, MN
Posts: 51
Re: Could this technique be used to sync the timecode of XF100's?

I wanted to give an update on this technique.. and it indeed does work, and except for a minor issue works well.

I had the opportunity to shoot with two XF100's (actually, and XF100 and XF105) last weekend. I had rented the 105 and I copied all the settings on the 100 to the SD card then imported them into the 105. Both I put in Free Run timecode, and I manually set the menus to the 'reset' position. I put the cameras next to each other and with the remote reset the timecode on both at the same moment.

When I imported the clips into Premiere Pro CS6 and synchronized the clips, it synced them perfectly by the timecode. I used a clapper for redundancy, but it wasn't needed.

The only issue is that the cameras drifted over time. After 15 hours (overnight), they were ~0.25 seconds off. I took a photo of their LCD's next to each other to see the difference. So I for the three shows I did, I just reset the timecodes right before the start.
David Trayers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2012, 09:18 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Francisco, California
Posts: 27
Re: Could this technique be used to sync the timecode of XF100's?

That was precisely what had to be done with the XL2 in teams. Takes but a second and they're synced again.
__________________
If you're not part of the solution, you're part of the precipitate.
A.D.Wyatt Norton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 29th, 2012, 09:32 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
Posts: 34
Re: Could this technique be used to sync the timecode of XF100's?

Thanks for sharing the result. I was interested to know if this worked. Interesting to know the relative drift on your camera too. I also often do long continuous recordings of performances.

Brett
Brett Delmage is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon XF Series HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network