Time lapse at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 30th, 2007, 06:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Peel,Isle of Man(UK)
Posts: 194
Time lapse

I want to compress 1 hour of footage into about 2 minutes. What is the best way to capture on the A1 with it not having a time lapse function?

I posted this in the clips section by mistake,so didn't get any response.....

I have posted in other forums and people just say 'forget the A1 for time lapse and use a DSLR.....'

There must be some way of getting good TL on the A1?
__________________
Canon XH-A1,SGPRO flip,Apple imac,FCExpress
http://www.pbase.com/philkneen
Phil Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2007, 06:27 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Riverside, California
Posts: 112
tl

i recently did a timelapse using my a1. 1hour shot in 60i then imported into premiere and shrunk to about 3mins 11secs.

Full Auto, during Sunset.
Kalulu Ngilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 08:08 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 91
If you can run tethered you could always use something like OnLocation to grab time lapse to disk on your laptop (Assuming you're running Windows).
Simon Dean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 09:19 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 71
You can do time-lapse with the A1. I first tried to do it using a dSLR, but mine doesn't have an intervalometer, so it was a huge PITA and turned out looking bad. I was too lazy to try it again, so I decided to try out the A1 instead -- MUCH easier in my opinion.

If whatever you want to film is an hour or less, then you can use the A1 without a problem. I've filmed time-lapse of the sunset, sunrise, and the moon using the A1. For the sunrise and sunset, I just set it to Tv mode, and let the iris adjust as it pleases. Otherwise, if the exposure is locked, different lighting conditions during a sunset or sunrise will either be over or underexposed. For the moon I completely lock the exposure.

Unfortunately I'm currently filming abroad and have no way to speed up the footage in a NLE to see how it worked, so I can only play it back on my A1 and fast forward. But after reviewing the footage this way, even though it cannot fast forward quickly, it still looks really good. With a time-lapse of the moon, you can easily see it moving across the frame -- pretty cool in my opinion.
__________________
www.eidolonfilms.com
Ben Crosbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 09:22 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Phil,
Just run the tape in the camera for the hour. Ingest it into your NLE and accelerate the clip till it runs the length you want. Make sure you have a good tripod and don't bump the camera. Use Manual focus, Manual gain and Manual white balance so things don't shift. Manual exposure also usually works better but it depends on the lighting conditions of your shot. Playing with different shutter speeds and ND can help make the video look more like film timelapse.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 09:30 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 67
Does it make a difference if I record in 25p or 50i? For slow motion I understand why 50 or 60i but what about fast motion?
Chan Ee Jien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 09:44 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Crosbie View Post
You can do time-lapse with the A1. I first tried to do it using a dSLR, but mine doesn't have an intervalometer, so it was a huge PITA and turned out looking bad.
I have a Nikon D80 DSLR and it doesn't have an intervalometer either. I stumbled across this device, bought it, and it works great for doing time lapse sequences with the Nikon. (Kits for other camera available too)

http://www.pclix.com/

I haven't tried a time lapse with the A1, but I plan to get around to it one day.
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 11:13 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Philly,PA
Posts: 360
i also do it in post. vegas has great options for speeding up and slowing down
footage.
Eric Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2007, 09:44 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Bothell, Washington
Posts: 195
just a thought from a novice...can you import the digital still camera images time lapsed with the pix into an nle that can form images suitable for the canon 16:9 format size?

bill
bothell, wa
wdboehm@yahoo.com
William Boehm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2007, 10:27 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Gallatin, TN
Posts: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Boehm View Post
just a thought from a novice...can you import the digital still camera images time lapsed with the pix into an nle that can form images suitable for the canon 16:9 format size?

bill
bothell, wa
wdboehm@yahoo.com
Still somewhat of a novice myself, but.....I have only imported still sequences to a SD (4:3) project and it works great. If you wanted to use the imported image sequence in a 16:9 project, you would have to re-size the stills, to match the project settings and pixel aspect ratio (PAR) in your NLE project. I use Photoshop for this, but I'm sure there are other applications/methods to do this.
Dearl Golden is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network