Losing Quality when Capturing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 17th, 2008, 11:07 PM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UAE
Posts: 13
Losing Quality when Capturing

Hi. I've been a using the XH-A1 for about a year now and I'm satisfied with what I has as far as picture quality goes. However, out of no where, I'm told that I am not capturing my footage right and that I'm losing quality when I capture directly into Premiere.

So, I've been doing my lurking for quite a while around here and I've been reading up on Canopus, Blackmagic, and Cineform products. Unfortunately, I don't really understand what their products offer me and how/if they can help my footage avoid losing quality.

Farid Alkhajah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2008, 08:28 AM   #2
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Farid... If I understand what you're saying correctly, there are two components to your question. First, capture quality. The video on the tape in your A1 is in HDV format. To the best of my understanding, capturing to Premier using the appropriate preset (which is likely HDV PAL 50i for your locale) will retain the format of the source video on the tape. Think of it like you're copying a file on your computer from one disk to another. There should be no "generational losses" in the capture process.

Second, Cineform is an intermediate (lossless?) codec that will make your footage easier to work with inside Premier. I also believe (although I don't know as fact) that Cineform footage will not suffer degradation due to re-compression when you apply color correction and other effects to your clips. If you're working in the native HDV format, this is where you could be losing video quality.

I cannot speak to Canopus or Blackmagic since I have no personal experience with them.

Please note that if you're on Windows Vista, I would stay away from Cineform for now. I installed their trial and was rewarded with two weeks of system flakiness and crashes and ended up having to reload the OS and all applications. I hope that they get it working because I really want to try it again.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:01 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network