XH-A1 component output?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20th, 2008, 11:41 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 34
XH-A1 component output??

Is the component output of the A1 SD or HD?

I asked this question via email to cannon and got a resounding "duh"

thanks
mike
Mike Stivala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 11:53 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Parkville, MO
Posts: 30
Component is always and only HD. This is universal across all devices.
Ray Lindsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 11:57 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Lindsay View Post
Component is always and only HD. This is universal across all devices.
Unless you captured in SD
__________________
Panasonic HMC150/Canon A1/JVC HD1/Sony Vegas 8.0c
Jeff Kellam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 12:04 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray Lindsay View Post
Component is always and only HD. This is universal across all devices.
always and only? I'm looking at an old school beta machine right now with an SD component output.

But anyway - what I'm really getting at here is this:

I'm shooting 1080 HDV (with the XH-A1), then editing with Final Cut Pro (6.0.2) on a Mac G5 (dual 2.3 processors). I was planning on digitizing the footage via firewire. I'm just wondering if, indeed the component output of the A1 is HD - will I get any appreciable quality benefit if I buy a blackmagic card with component HD input and take the footage in thru it??

specifically the HD extreme card
http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/hd/

My gut says no - that unless I upgrade to the G1 with the SDI output and take the footage in via SDI - that there will be no real benefit to digitize component HD vs firewire.

But - what do you guys think?

thanks
Mike
Mike Stivala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 12:29 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Saguenay, Québec, Canada
Posts: 1,051
I didn't tried it myself, but from what I've read, when you playback footage on tape, you get the HDV compressed footage from the component out. So no gain in doing this. But if you can find a way to record the live footage from the component out, you get an uncompressed analog HD 4:2:2 signal.
__________________
Jean-Philippe Archibald
http://www.jparchibald.com - http://www.vimeo.com/jparchib
Jean-Philippe Archibald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2008, 01:58 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Parkville, MO
Posts: 30
OK I stand corrected. Sorry. My point of reference is the fact that the only time I have seen component video inputs or outputs on any device, usually TV sets, it is "usually" (I will avoid the term "always" in the future) on HD sets and they are usually for higher resolution signals, while the s-video and red white and yellow hookups are for the SD. Sorry for my mistake.
Ray Lindsay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2009, 02:53 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 200
component out

So we have an XHA1 with component out via the cable supplied with the camera. Does the camera output uncompressed video while recording?

If so, can this higher quality video than HDV be captured via some adapter into a hard drive?


Component video has been available for a long time, even decades, on professional level devices.
Larry Vaughn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2009, 01:28 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Vaughn View Post
So we have an XHA1 with component out via the cable supplied with the camera. Does the camera output uncompressed video while recording?

If so, can this higher quality video than HDV be captured via some adapter into a hard drive?


Component video has been available for a long time, even decades, on professional level devices.
I don't think so - unless Canon is not telling the truth, the native resolution is 1440x1080, so that is the best you will capture.

Also, just FYI, you can switch between SD and HD on the component out. Under "Signal setup", there is a "Comp out" setting, that can switch between 480i, and 1080i/480i...
Jay Bratcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2009, 07:20 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Bratcher View Post
I don't think so - unless Canon is not telling the truth, the native resolution is 1440x1080, so that is the best you will capture.
There's a big difference between 1440x1080 HDV and 1440x1080 uncompressed. The question is whether the component output is taken from before or after the HDV compression. As far as I know, Canon are not saying one way or the other.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2009, 01:00 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Hunter View Post
There's a big difference between 1440x1080 HDV and 1440x1080 uncompressed. The question is whether the component output is taken from before or after the HDV compression. As far as I know, Canon are not saying one way or the other.

Richard
Ah yes, good point - I was thinking more of the stretched pixel / slight loss of resolution, than the compression issues..
Jay Bratcher is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network