A1 component to VGA converter at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 18th, 2008, 12:25 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 226
A1 component to VGA converter

So, I'm wanting to hook up my A1 to my widescreen LCD monitor.

Would something like this work? http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...eries_VGA.html
__________________
Canon EOS 7D, Final Cut Studio 2
Brandon Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 02:19 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi Brandon...........

I'd give the input connectors on your screen a pretty serious scrute before thinking of buying anything.

The A1 outputs YPbPr Component @ 1920 X 1080 HD (OK, lets not do the 1440 looks like 1920 etc).

If you want to see that beautifull picture in all it's glory, you need a full 1080 screen with YPbPr Component inputs.

Many of the slightly older screens DO have VGA connectors, but to a man they severely limit the resolution and frame rate that they will accept (the picture looks horrible).

To make matters worse, the RGB of a VGA connector is NOT 1:1 compatible with the YPbPr standard (it might just work, but looks even worse than horrible, usually).

Back to the drawing board on this, I think.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 02:22 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 46
Does your monitor not have a DVI input?
Alex Plank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 03:11 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 226
My computer LCD monitor does have a DVI input... Can I do something with that?
__________________
Canon EOS 7D, Final Cut Studio 2
Brandon Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 03:37 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon Freeman View Post
My computer LCD monitor does have a DVI input... Can I do something with that?
well it'd be worth it to get a component to dvi converter instead of vga.
Alex Plank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 03:53 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 226
So, would this work?

http://store.a2zcable.com/vdc1-1-5.html

Or do I need something like this?

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...Converter.html
__________________
Canon EOS 7D, Final Cut Studio 2
Brandon Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2008, 04:08 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi...

That first one is a NO.

The second one is a YES.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 05:10 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 5
Has anyone tried this box?
Component Video -> VGA

XCM 1080P VGABox
http://www.Extreme-Mods.com/XCM-1080...080pvgabox.htm
Dez Leung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 07:09 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
YPrPb has the sync signal embedded in the Y line, while VGA has separate H and V sync lines, so it is not possible just to use a cable for conversion (apart from the fact that the colour space is totally different). Here's a converter box that I found, but I haven't tried it myself.

http://www.ramelectronics.net/audio-...c11200-p1.html

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 07:39 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Hi.............

Dez:

The converter you posted would appear to solve everyones problems.

Talking of O/P'ing 1080p and all.

Sounds like the bees knees.

HOWEVER:

The kicker is this:-

I know of no screens which will run an I/P from said VGA connector above the VESA standard for WXGA resolution, which is............(drum roll)...............1360 X 768.

So, that adapter could put out 5000 X 4000 and it wouldn't mean a thing.

In order to get 1080i you need Component YPbPr (minimum)

In order to get 1080p you need either DVI or HDMI

(I know of no screens which will accept 1080p on the YPbPr connector, I'm not saying there aren't any, just that I am not aware of any).

The second unit Brandon posted in #6 is the way to go.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2008, 10:23 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 226
Seeing as how that unit I posted is only $100 less than a 19" LCD HDTV at Walmart, I think I'll just pony up the extra mulah. Less stuff to carry around and power.
__________________
Canon EOS 7D, Final Cut Studio 2
Brandon Freeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2008, 01:50 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Napoli, Italy
Posts: 41
From Ebay, at only 49,95$

http://cgi.ebay.it/Component-Video-Y...d=p3286.c0.m14

Not tested!
Antonio Ricca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2008, 01:58 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Fairfield, Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 3,634
Images: 18
Good find, Antonio........

Even better decision, Brandon.


CS
Chris Soucy is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network