XH-A1 Companion Camera? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 10th, 2008, 08:20 AM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Worcester, MA
Posts: 40
Brian,

The need for the pulldown removal on the HV20/30 is based on the way these cameras record the video, not playback. You can certainly use the 20/30 as a deck without any additional processes.

For my own information, what software has given you the best success in working with the HV20 footage when using 24P in a timeline?

Bill
Bill Doyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 03:53 PM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 133
Soon-to-be XH-A1 owner who will work w/ HV20 and HV30 owners (and owns an HC1)

Nice thread guys. I'm hoping to own an XH-A1 soon and plan on working with owners of the HV20 and the HV30 so this thread is helpful. I myself plan on keeping my Sony HC1 and trying to work with that also (I believe there's a thread on that was well).
__________________
Current Audio Equipment: two AT822 mics, Sony MZ-RH1, and KE-110CCR. What else should I get for short films and recording stand-up comedy? http://is.gd/kePy
Shahryar Rizvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2008, 04:25 PM   #18
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Deke, I just saw your question. I probably shot about 20 hours before we got the batch with big dropouts. It's not going to gunk up your heads to switch. Just use the cleaning tape (follow the printed recommendations, which usually say no more than 10 seconds).

While I'm using the expensive Sony digital mastering tapes and have had no problems, I shot for a week recently and the client furnished the tape. They were the cheaper Sony Premium. Didn't see a single dropout. But I'm sticking with the expensive ones. Even though they're over 16 bucks apiece, that's still the cheapest part of a shoot.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2008, 01:11 PM   #19
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deke Ryland View Post
Hey Bill,

How long did you use the Panny AMQ's with your A1's until you switched to Sony? I too am seeing lots of dropouts, even after cleaning the heads... and I've been using the AMQ's. I'd like to switch over to Sony's tapes, but wasn't sure if it would gunk up my heads considering I've shot AMQ's with my A1 for about 40 tapes. Thanks for any help.
I am having similar issues with Panny AMQ's in an XHA1 (2 out of 15 tapes were useless, 2 others had numerous drops). I am switching to Sony. A Panny Rep tried to tell me it had to do with the Cam and mfg tolerance...but I ain't buying it. He was giving the 'song and dance- it ain't our fault routine'.
Tobin Strickland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2008, 03:01 PM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Doyle View Post
Brian,

The need for the pulldown removal on the HV20/30 is based on the way these cameras record the video, not playback. You can certainly use the 20/30 as a deck without any additional processes.

For my own information, what software has given you the best success in working with the HV20 footage when using 24P in a timeline?

Bill
I've been using Final Cut Pro, though I may switch to something else.
__________________
Equip: Panny GH1, Canon HG20, Juicedlink, AT897, Sennh. EW/GW100, Zoom H2, Vegas 8.1
Brian Boyko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2008, 04:19 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 116
HDMI vs Canon comp D

Has anyone compared A1 footage played and/or captured via HV30/HDMI vs. A1/Comp-D? Also curious, will HV30 footage play on the A1?
__________________
www.PacificPictures.net
Kevin Shahinian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2008, 02:27 PM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taky Cheung View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Doyle View Post
..what are you guys doing to match the footage. I like some of the "less video" custom presets for the A1 and don't want to have to use A1 factory defaults just to match the HV20/30.

In other words, what can I do to the HV's settings when shooting (I always use full manual).

Thanks,

Bill
I have done some color matching of HV30 to Xh-A1. The result is quite good.

Color matching XH-A1 and HV20 - The Digital Video Information Network
Thanks for the link to this thread Taky. I checked it out and posted in there.

I have a question not on getting the images to match, but what would be the easiest way for me to record for just being able to edit together.

I saw the following posts:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Boyko View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Doyle View Post
...

For my own information, what software has given you the best success in working with the HV20 footage when using 24P in a timeline?

Bill
I've been using Final Cut Pro, though I may switch to something else.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taky Cheung View Post
XH-A1 24F stores as 24fps on tape. Unlike PF24 in Hv20 and Hv30 that you need to remove pulldown.
I'm not too familiar with pulldowns and so forth yet so I just want to be able to edit easy (these are for my learning projects, when I take on something important, I'll pay attention to this). Should I not record in 24F on my Canon XH-A1 and just stick to 60i for any project I plan to work with an HV20 or HV30? I have Final Cut Express 3.5 HD.
__________________
Current Audio Equipment: two AT822 mics, Sony MZ-RH1, and KE-110CCR. What else should I get for short films and recording stand-up comedy? http://is.gd/kePy
Shahryar Rizvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2008, 02:43 PM   #23
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
If you read the first post of that thread, from my findings, Preset #13 is the clooest match with the stock HV30 footage.

If you are not familiar with pulldown removal, you can try shooting 60i on both, or XH-A1 30F and HV30 30P (HV20 doesn't have 30p). Or if you have an HV20, you can do both in 60i with Tv set to 1/30.
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2008, 03:12 PM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taky Cheung View Post
If you read the first post of that thread, from my findings, Preset #13 is the clooest match with the stock HV30 footage.

If you are not familiar with pulldown removal, you can try shooting 60i on both, or XH-A1 30F and HV30 30P (HV20 doesn't have 30p). Or if you have an HV20, you can do both in 60i with Tv set to 1/30.
Thanks Taky. In that first post, you said Preset #13 is the closest match to the HV20. So just to be clear, it's the same as the HV30 right?

And thanks for telling me about what to record in. I wasn't sure what you meant with TV set to 1/30 though.
__________________
Current Audio Equipment: two AT822 mics, Sony MZ-RH1, and KE-110CCR. What else should I get for short films and recording stand-up comedy? http://is.gd/kePy
Shahryar Rizvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2008, 10:08 AM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chuluota, Florida
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pryor View Post
The Canon HV30 would be a good thing for you. Lots of people buy it to use for loading footage (it will play your XH A1's 24 and 30f modes), and it is a decent "b-roll" camera for situations where you don't want to use the bigger one, or need a second camera, such as mounted on the dash of a car, etc...
The CMOS sensor in the HV20/HV30 is vulnerable to vibration - resulting in poor quality footage. If you would like to mount your HV20/HV30 in a "vibration rich" environment - like a car frame or dashboard - you should take care to isolate the camera from vibration as best you can.

My $0.02
Lee Small is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:48 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network