Keep display info on VF but not output? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 14th, 2008, 07:45 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Keep display info on VF but not output?

Please excuse the doulble post ( I posted the same thing on the H1 forum), but I shoot with both an H1 and A1.
last night we shot a three camera concert which was being mixed live and broadcast on the internet. I had to get rid of my display on the out put, and was wondering if there's any way to keep the display info in the viewfinder, buy not go out through the s video plug? Or through the hdv component or bnc cable outs?
Bruce yarock
Yarock Video and Photo
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 04:34 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
I think you may want to check out the "TV SCREEN" custom setting. I believe I had to set this to ON so that the video output by the A1's BNC and V1/V2 ports included the information displays on my Steadicam Pilot monitor.

Page 90 of the manual describes this setting.

Julian
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 14th, 2008, 08:37 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Julian,
I think I'm wanting to do the oppossite. I want to keep the info on my viewfinder, but NOT have have it go out through the s video, bnc, etc. Is this what you're talking about?
Thanks
Bruce Yarock
Yarock Video and Photo
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 11:55 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
I believe this will still work (just make sure it's turned OFF). When I connected my A1 to my Steadicam Pilot monitor, I got no on-screen information on the monitor (not even the menu screens!) until I turned the TV SCREEN setting to ON.
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2008, 03:36 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Thanks, Julian. This is the response I got on the H1 foum, so I guess it's the same.

"Go into the menu > Display setup > TV Screen. set it to off.
Info will still be on EVF but not on output."

Bruce S. Yarock
Yarock Video and Photo
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network