Best way to Preserve footage? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 24th, 2009, 08:01 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Best way to Preserve footage?

Over the weekend I shot some great footage with my XHA1. At the moment, I dont do my own editing so I am unable to capture the footage to a computer. Whats the best way to back up these tapes in the event that something happens to the original? Also, is there a way to back up the tapes without losing the quailty of the image?
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 09:57 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
Well, it's probably no help to you, but we did this by hooking two Sony edit decks together by iLink and duped this way....probably you could play back out of your camera and into an hdv deck if you can borrow one. You can also output downconverted sd video letterboxed from the XHa1 to a standard vcr or video card on your computer, but obviously you're loosing a lot of quality that way. How's your project coming, did you solve the settings quandry? / Battle Vaughan
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:40 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Battle thanks for the reply. If I hook up to an HD deck, will I lose any quality or will it come out the exact same? As far as the project is concerned, its coming along well. I tried the settings both ways and the sound came out great both ways. Probably because it was such a controlled enviroment and the mics were only 3 feet away from the group. I even used two different brand of mics and the sound was still great! I'm gaining more and more confidence with this camera and its only a matter of time before I can help others with my posts in the same fashion that you and the rest of the fourm members have helped me. Please let me know I will lose quality if I hook up to a hd deck. Thanks!
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2009, 10:46 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
You can hook up two hdv camera, one play and one on record, and the digital file will be transferred exactly from one camera to the new tape. 1's and zeros is what is being tranferred, and would be an exact copy.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 06:47 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Chris, does that mean i can simply rent another XHA1 and make back up copies that way? If so, How do I connect them? Also, what do you mean "1's and zeros is what is being tranferred"?
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 07:11 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Conway, NH
Posts: 1,745
Kevin... Even if you don't have editing software, you still can capture your footage to your hard disk. Here's one workflow for PC. You'll need to figure out if it's effective for you.

1-Download and install HDV capture utility. It's free and works wonderfully well.
2-Connect your camera to your computer via 1394.
3-Capture files to local hard drive using scene split option.
4-Write files out to DVD as a data disk (not video).

One can also substitute an external hard drive for DVD in step 4 but there are some risks to data if you just disconnect the hard drive and stick it in a closet somewhere. Hard disks don't like sitting idle for long periods of time.
Tripp Woelfel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 07:24 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 249
Kevin,

I thought you were running a trial version of vegas? If so, you can capture there. If not, Tripp's solution would be the way to go if you are just looking to backup the footage. (Thanks for sharing, Tripp)

PS Glad to hear your filming experience went well!

Michael
Michael Hutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 12:25 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Yup, I am indeed running the trail version of vegas but I have only been experimenting with the sample footage that it comes with, so I have not had to try and capture video. My concern with using veags was what happens if I dont purchase the program after the trial period ends. Would I not have access to my footage?
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 12:33 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Tripp: Thanks for the info. I was going to take the tapes locally to a camera shop to have them make a copy. My only concern was that the various types of lubricants from other tapes that may have been duplicated before, may affect my tapes. This footage may be once in a lifetime stuff and I' a little paranoid about giving it to someone else. I keep thinking about the old days when my tape recorder would eat an audio cassette. That would be disasterous!
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 12:38 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 249
You won't loose your footage. When you capture footage, you are just using vegas as a means to get the footage onto your hard drive.

You will only run into a problem if you are in the middle of editting and the trial period runs out....your'e editting will be for naught unless you buy the program. Even so, your original captured footage will still be ok.

So, capture with vegas to store it on your hard drive....no problems....just tell the program where(what drive/directory) you want the files stored.

With your captured footage, You could have a go editing in vegas with your personal footage.

For a REAL Philly Steak and Cheese, I'll edit it for ya. lol
Michael Hutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 03:18 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
Don't free programs like movie maker and imovie capture HDV.. they are free you can look at the footage on a monitor and also back it up
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 03:41 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
apologies please delete
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 05:45 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Really? Does windows movie maker capture hd?
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 25th, 2009, 09:28 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 552
I'm sure it does... try it
Jonathan Shaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2009, 01:40 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philadelphia, pa
Posts: 705
Ok, this weekend i'm going to rent an HD camera so that I can back-up my tapes. I'm just going to take Chirs suggestion and hook up two cameras, one on play and the other on record. The orginal footage was shot on a XHA1. If I use a different HD camera (like a sony) to record to, will the back-up tapes look like my xha1 footage or will the image have the look of the cammera that i'm recording to? Also, can someone tell me how to connect the two cameras? Thanks!
Kevin Lewis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network