DO you guys know if i can Upgrade my Ntsc XH-A1 to PAL in Europe??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 9th, 2009, 04:19 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: new york, Israel
Posts: 124
DO you guys know if i can Upgrade my Ntsc XH-A1 to PAL in Europe???

can i do that here in Europe?
Arthur Abramov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 05:45 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 43
From Canon USA:
"Thank you for contacting Canon product support. We value you as a Canon customer and appreciate the opportunity to assist you. I am sorry to hear of any difficulties locating information regarding your XH A1S camcorder.

All Canon USA camcorders are designed to be viewed on the US standard NTSC TV system. However, the HD cameras do have a process to add PAL to them, there is a charge of approximately $500, when sent into the Canon Factory Service Center. They add a menu option and the switches on the side that control framerate work with the new PAL frame rates.

I hope this information is helpful to you. Please let me know if we can be of any further assistance with the Canon XH A1S."
Jarda Bar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 09:18 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: new york, Israel
Posts: 124
Well i know that in Canon's Factory in New Jersey does the upgrade. but i'm away from there in Europe that's why i'm asking for alittle advice from somebody that has been through this !!!

I'm stuck i really need help with this one. ,
Arthur Abramov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2009, 01:13 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 532
i am living in a PAL country with an NTSC camera and thought about the mod, but $500???? ouch. if you have FCPS 2, compressor does a really nice job of converting NTSC video to PAL...
Brian David Melnyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2009, 01:27 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: LOWESTOFT - UK
Posts: 2,123
To be honest, the upgrade price works with the kind of prices we pay normally in Europe.

Our cameras have for years been more expensive - ignoring $v fluctuations. In fact, I remember many times people bringing me in a camcorder they'd bought on holiday, ignorant of the fact it wasn't the UK tv system. They bought it because to us, when on holiday it really was cheap. Then it was even worse in the UK than in Europe because any camera with video input was considered by our Government to be a video RECORDER, and attracted a higher rate of duty! To get around this, many UK products had their line inputs removed as part of the UK spec!

$500 is a lot of money, but about the difference we'd expect, and for the work to be done, it's probably not too bad.
Paul R Johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2009, 01:17 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: new york, Israel
Posts: 124
Thank you guys for your input, but the point is if anybody know if i can upgrade it in Europe!.?


I'm working with multiple cameras this one is out of sync if i edit more than one System in one project.
Arthur Abramov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2009, 03:06 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 161
The upgrade is done in Europe, but Im not sure exactly where. You could contact a service center directly through this link:

Consumer Products Support

For example, the company that services Video cameras for Belgium and Holland is:

Techrepair
Joulehof 1
4622 RG Bergen op Zoom
Nederland
Tel: +31(0)164-244222

Website: Tech Repair
E-mail: info@techrepair.nl & parts@techrepair.nl
Bill Engeler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2009, 12:24 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: new york, Israel
Posts: 124
i'll try calling them see what can they offer. i hope i caould get an English speaking operator.

Thanks
Arthur Abramov is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network