HDMI ports? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 10th, 2006, 02:22 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
HDMI ports?

Do these new cameras have HDMI ports on them? I know there is component with both and SDI with the higher end version.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2006, 02:48 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Don't know it for a fact, but I'd be almost sure they won't have HDMI. My understanding is that they'll have the same connections as the XL H1 including use of the same component out cable/connection.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2006, 05:02 AM   #3
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Sadly no HDMI. The new Sony cams have it but not these Canons, sorry.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2006, 11:01 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 440
Deal killer for me... why Canon why? ;(
Wes Vasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2006, 07:03 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tokoroa, New Zealand
Posts: 18
Hi Chris

I'm a first time poster here. I found this website link which says that the camera does have HDMI ports:

--link removed--

Is this correct? I am hoping you are wrong cause I saw that blackmagic just came out with the Intensity card which allows for input and output of HDMI into your computer. This would be great for the A1.

http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/intensity/

That would be sweet if we could use the camera with the blackmagic card.

Cheers

Ratu
__________________
Rugby is the winner at the end of
the day.
Tania Ratu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2006, 07:37 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 4,093
Unfortunately, the site you mentioned tries (IMO) to lean TOO far forward with "the scoop" and not infrequently makes mistakes in doing so. The hyperlink I removed was to a table that had a number of factual errors...which is why I removed the link.

I would guess that Chris knows as much or more than anyone outside of Canon, Inc about these cameras and he seems pretty certain they don't have HDMI. Also, no Canon literature I've seen even mentions HDMI, and the XH Watchdog has a number of images of the cameras that do NOT show an HDMI port.
__________________
Pete Bauer
The most beautiful thing we can experience is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. Albert Einstein
Trying to solve a DV mystery? You may find the answer behind the SEARCH function ... or be able to join a discussion already in progress!
Pete Bauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2006, 08:07 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tokoroa, New Zealand
Posts: 18
Hi Peter

I didn't think Chris would be wrong. It would have been nice though.

Cheers

Ratu
__________________
Rugby is the winner at the end of
the day.
Tania Ratu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2006, 09:25 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Posts: 548
I know that decklink has announced their HDMI card .... but why would an HD camera with SDI (and no HDMI) be a deal breaker ?
SDI has been tried and true for years.
__________________
Nick Jushchyshyn Matchmoving, Compositing, TD
imdb

Last edited by Nick Jushchyshyn; September 11th, 2006 at 07:53 AM.
Nick Jushchyshyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2006, 11:33 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
It be interesting to see what the quality difference would be between HDMI and SDI since they are both digital. If the A1 did have HDMI could it end up looking just as good with digital uncompressed as the G1 with SDI? I would think that would almost kill the G1 except for those who deal with other broadcast equipment or that may already have an SDI card and don't want to have to buy another capture card. Although I think buying a $250.00 card is still cheaper than buying the G1.
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network