Decent on-camera monitor at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XH G1S / G1 (with SDI), Canon XH A1S / A1 (without SDI).


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 12th, 2007, 08:37 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 28
Decent on-camera monitor

Hello all,

I am looking to add an on-camera monitor to my XH A1, so as to better help me in nailing manual focus. I looked at the Glidecam and VariZoom models, and also searched these forums, but being a noob I feel like I need some directions. Is there any one model you are particular towards? Also, do they work off rechargeable or AA batteries, or would an external battery pack be required for field recording, where no A/C adapter would be readily available?

Thanks in advance,
Nick
Nick Csakany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 09:19 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bradford, PA
Posts: 67
Beleive it or not.. right now I'm using a portable Poloraid DVD player as an external monitor for the A1. It has a 9 inch screen which makes focusing on a subject really easy. The battery lasts for 3 or 4 hours before it needs to be charged. I am in the process in trying to rig some kind of stand for it.. maybe by using a tripod or something... I'll figure something out hopefully. Anyway, thats what I'm using and its working great.

-John
John B. Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 09:25 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
I'm using a Polaroid 7 in DVD player bought for $100 at Walmart, for same purpose. It is not HD, obviously, but it also flips when I use it with my Letus Adapter...
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 09:30 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Claremore, Oklahoma
Posts: 131
Southern engineering eh?

ha

That IS a pretty good idea. But how do you mount it?

Joseph
Joseph Hutson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2007, 09:48 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Whangarei, New Zealand
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joseph Hutson View Post
But how do you mount it?
Buy it a couple of drinks and tell it that it has beautiful eyes.

Sorry, the devil made me do it.
Dennis Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 03:12 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Antwerpen, Belgium
Posts: 60
good to hear that those DVD players are usefull as external monitor.
I'm thinking of getting myself one after I made my own Stabilizer (got Cody's plans) and/or crane.
What type of cable do you use to connect it to the XHA1?
Jeremy Naus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 08:31 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 28
I think most DVD players would connect via the composite A/V, and not component. It would also be kind of awkward using the bulky component cable for such a short distance.

I'll try to figure out how to mount one of these DVD players, but I'm still looking at a proper external monitor.

Thanks for all your input. This is a great place to be, and I cannot begin to express the amount of knowledge that I absorbed while lurking in the background!

Nick
Nick Csakany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 11:54 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NY, NYC
Posts: 367
Here's the one I use. Not HD, not great resolution, but very good if your prefer to see a MUCH larger image than the onboard LCD.

Varizoom VZ-TFT7U 7-Inch Widescreen Color LCD

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...D_Monitor.html
James Binder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 12:45 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Csakany View Post
I think most DVD players would connect via the composite A/V, and not component. It would also be kind of awkward using the bulky component cable for such a short distance.

I'll try to figure out how to mount one of these DVD players, but I'm still looking at a proper external monitor.

Thanks for all your input. This is a great place to be, and I cannot begin to express the amount of knowledge that I absorbed while lurking in the background!

Nick
Heres how I used my with my HV20, and Letus. Velcro on bottom of battery, with velcro on bars on cross pieces. In this configuration it was wobbly because I also had cross bars velcroed. But I since did a new build on the flip arrangement, and bolted the bars on for a much steadier mount.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/attachmen...5&d=1182318059
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 01:22 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Binder View Post
Here's the one I use. Not HD, not great resolution, but very good if your prefer to see a MUCH larger image than the onboard LCD.

Varizoom VZ-TFT7U 7-Inch Widescreen Color LCD

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...D_Monitor.html
This is the one I was looking at. The kit, actually, which includes the mount, sun box, battery, and carrying case.

Does it impact the balance of the camera? I don't recall offhand if the hot shoe is directly over the tripot mount, of further towards the front. The camera already is front-heavy as is.

Nick
Nick Csakany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 01:25 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
Heres how I used my with my HV20, and Letus. Velcro on bottom of battery, with velcro on bars on cross pieces. In this configuration it was wobbly because I also had cross bars velcroed. But I since did a new build on the flip arrangement, and bolted the bars on for a much steadier mount.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/attachmen...5&d=1182318059

Interesting. The camera almost gets lost in the setup. I guess the HV20 doesn't have a flip function, that's why you mounted it upside down for the straight Letus?

Nick
Nick Csakany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 13th, 2007, 02:29 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 516
unfortunately, none of these monitors are appropriate for critical focusing. you need a monitor capable of displaying at least 480 lines of true vertical resolution. the least expensive of these hd lcd monitors currently available are the ikan 8000 hd, the varizoom swit, and the marshall. these other monitors may be fine for framing and work perfectly well for standard def, but focusing with them for high def would be a complete gamble. you'd be better off using the xha1's onboard lcd/evf and focus assist functions.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/forumdisplay.php?f=112
Henry Cho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2007, 06:42 PM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Csakany View Post
Interesting. The camera almost gets lost in the setup. I guess the HV20 doesn't have a flip function, that's why you mounted it upside down for the straight Letus?

Nick
No flip function readily accessable , though you can open it up and actually install your own. However, I shoot upside down so when I capture the footage does not need to be flipped.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2007, 06:44 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henry Cho View Post
unfortunately, none of these monitors are appropriate for critical focusing. you need a monitor capable of displaying at least 480 lines of true vertical resolution. the least expensive of these hd lcd monitors currently available are the ikan 8000 hd, the varizoom swit, and the marshall. these other monitors may be fine for framing and work perfectly well for standard def, but focusing with them for high def would be a complete gamble. you'd be better off using the xha1's onboard lcd/evf and focus assist functions.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/forumdisplay.php?f=112
I agree, Henry. In the film I shot with this set up, I managed to hit it pretty close, and since it was going to SD, there was a bit less issue. But I don't mind telling you that before I saw the footage, I was a bit nervouse about the critical focus issues.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 14th, 2007, 09:10 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 28
Thanks all for the very informative input. Since I need an external monitor primarily for checking and attaining focus -- as opposed to framing -- I guess the way to go is HD. I'm looking at the Marshall and Nebtek products right now, and will probably make a purchase this week.
Nick Csakany is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XH Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:49 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network