Using front mic and XLR simultaniously? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2010, 08:26 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 30
Using front mic and XLR simultaniously?

Hi there,

I would like to use my standard Canon front mic together with one of my XLR inputs at the back of my XLH1...but...I've not managed to do so. I've tried many options and posibilities, but it seems not to be possible to use the front mic and one of the XLR inputs together!

Has anyone a clue? Thank a million!

Rob
__________________
Gear: JVC GY-HM700, Canon EOS 550D, GoPro Hero HD, Apple MacPro 12-core (2,66 Ghz, 20 GB int. mem.), JVC DT-R24L4D display, Apple Cinema Display 23", FInal Cut Studio 3
Rob Bruijgoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2010, 02:32 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Hi Rob,

This was one of the fixes in the XL H1S update. If you are using the original H1, then you cannot use the front mic and an XLR mic at the same time.

Hope this helps,

Michael
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2010, 06:35 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 226
Could you not place a small patch cable between the front mic and the xlr socket on the back and therefore use the front mic with the rear mic sockets - plus another mic in the other rear socket.
Dave Gosley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2010, 10:51 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Sure, you can convert the front mic's connector to work with one of the XLR connectors on the camera.

But natively, the camera cannot do this. Only the 's' version can.
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2010, 09:39 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Bergen, Norway
Posts: 2,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Galvan View Post
Only the 's' version can.
Does this mean that the XL-H1A can not use both front mic and XLR at the same time?
It is only the XL-H1S?
Trond Saetre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2010, 12:29 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 775
Actually the 'S' and 'A' version can do this.

should've mentioned the 'A' as well.
Michael Galvan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 10:02 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Denver/Vail Colorado
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Galvan View Post
Sure, you can convert the front mic's connector to work with one of the XLR connectors on the camera.
Michael - do you have first hand experience of doing this? I have a few questions as to the parts you used - did you rewire the mic plug?
Peter Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2010, 06:33 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 5
Can the on board mic take Phantom power?

Boy this is a bummer. I've had the camera for a long time and never needed this but I'm shooting with a wireless lav yet also need the camera mic as backup - TOMORROW. Since I post in FCP7 (and don't want to go to 12 bit) using channels 3/4 is not an option. If I attach the on board mic with a short XLR cable can it run off of the camera's phantom power? Or do I need a separate power source, and if so, what?

Thanks.
Jeff Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2010, 04:52 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands
Posts: 30
I don't think it is possible to power the standard Canon XLH1 mic seperatly. It is a condenser mic so it needs phantom power. The mic has two jacks, one to support the audio and I think the other powers the mic. In my opinion you cannot power the mic by XLR (48V switch at the back of your XLH1), when you adapt the 3,5 mm mini jack to XLR. The mini jack does not support phantom power.

You'll need a shotgun mic witch XLR input, or just record the audio separate from your cam with an audio recorder.

Best of luck with your shoot!
__________________
Gear: JVC GY-HM700, Canon EOS 550D, GoPro Hero HD, Apple MacPro 12-core (2,66 Ghz, 20 GB int. mem.), JVC DT-R24L4D display, Apple Cinema Display 23", FInal Cut Studio 3
Rob Bruijgoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2010, 07:19 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 3,004
Good evening,

with the xlh1a I have run front and back mics simultaniously.


dale
__________________
DATS ALL FOLKS
Dale W. Guthormsen
Dale Guthormsen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network