XHA1s capture problem at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 18th, 2012, 06:19 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 138
XHA1s capture problem

no matter what i use PC or MAC , tried with multiple fire wire cables... i can not get the video out from my xha1s ... when the cable is connected i do not see the HDV/DV in on the viewfinder... does this means the firewire port is faulty or can this be some setting related? please help !!
__________________
Canon XL2, 20X zoom and 3X wide-angle, , Sony Wireless UHFs UWP-C1 and UWP-C2 , Manfrotto 503 head on 351 tripod , Glidecam 4000 Pro w/Glidecam Smooth Shooter
Wajahat Abbasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2012, 07:11 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Re: XHA1s capture problem

FWIW: this is the XL-H forum, not XH series.

Could you capture on the same computers from the same camcorder previously? If so, has anything changed on the PCs since then (patch applies, etc.)?

Is the camcorder setup for firewire output of the recorded format video? e.g., if the video is HDV, and you want to capture it as HDV (no in-camcorder down convert) Signal Setup--Playback Standard should be set to HDV, and Setup--HD-Down-Conv to OFF. See page 109 of the manual. (These setting may need to be made before you connect the camcorder to the PC.)

And is the capture program setup for capture of that type signal - with some it make a difference.?
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2012, 07:25 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: XHA1s capture problem

Your problem could be a number of things from faulty fireport cables to incorrect settings in your NLE.
Did you connect it all up first BEFORE turning on ALL the power ... if not, that could have blown your A1s firewire port.

Is your A1s new, is it under any warranty?

As you're in NY NY you could call sponsor B&H and make an appointment to take your A1s across to them to help you.

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2012, 07:28 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 138
Re: XHA1s capture problem

maybe that is my problem .. i might have connected it after truing it on...
yes i have downloaded video from this camera before ..... its not new you think B&H would help me with it even when its not bought from them ... ?
__________________
Canon XL2, 20X zoom and 3X wide-angle, , Sony Wireless UHFs UWP-C1 and UWP-C2 , Manfrotto 503 head on 351 tripod , Glidecam 4000 Pro w/Glidecam Smooth Shooter
Wajahat Abbasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2012, 07:44 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney.
Posts: 2,569
Re: XHA1s capture problem

No harm in giving B&H a phone call, or maybe there is a Canon video camera shop closer to you which could do it faster?
Good luck.

Cheers.
__________________
30+ years with our own audio and visual production company and studios.
Allan Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2012, 06:43 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Re: XHA1s capture problem

B&H is a good place to do business.. If you are a regular customer I expect they would help, but don't expect a lot of time from them,

The Canon repair facility is in NJ. Not sure how far it is from you, or how hard to get there from NYC. You could call the Canon help number and see if they have some simple checks you can try.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2012, 06:33 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 138
Re: XHA1s capture problem

is it possible to use Component video out and capture video using a Video input ...some thing like this
Elgato EyeTV HD Video Recorder - Apple Store (U.S.)
__________________
Canon XL2, 20X zoom and 3X wide-angle, , Sony Wireless UHFs UWP-C1 and UWP-C2 , Manfrotto 503 head on 351 tripod , Glidecam 4000 Pro w/Glidecam Smooth Shooter
Wajahat Abbasi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2012, 07:00 AM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Re: XHA1s capture problem

Probably, if you are a Mac person. But likely not the best way because it adds another D/A and A/D conversion in the capture process that looks like it ends with in a lossy highly compressed file format that is even harder (required more processign power) than HDV to edit.

Your better bet may be to solve the firewire issue.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2012, 03:24 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Re: XHA1s capture problem

I don;t know if this is an option but perhaps a used HV20 or HV30 might help out here. At least if your spending the money for a repair of a firewire port, you might be able to pick up something like this and have a "deck" for capturing and a 2nd camera you might need in a pinch. Just something to consider.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network