audio setup on xl1s at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2004, 09:47 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 11
audio setup on xl1s

Can anyone help me set up my XL1S to record ambient audio on one channel and a wireless mic on another. If I set up the camera for 12-bit stereo 1 & 2, I can't capture audio 2 with Sony Vegas software or any of the proprietary software on my Sony desktop PC. Also, I can't configure the camera to accept both external and wireless mic on audio 1. Help?
Barry Stokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2004, 09:50 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
4-channel 12bit audio usually takes 2 passes to capture.

Scenalyzer should be able to do it. Don't know about Vegas.

usually you don't want to bother with 12-bit audio. The bit depth is 12bit VS 16bit (increased quantitization error during processing and higher S/N ratio) and the sampling rate 32khz VS 48khz (ok for dialogue, not ok for music or sounds with high frequencies).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2004, 08:19 AM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
Go ahead and let Stereo 1 be the on-camer mic and Stereo 2 be your extra mic(s).

Vegas will NOT capture stereo 2. Whenever I need to capture 4-channel audio, I use Scenalyzer Live. Scenalyzer can capture Video + Stereo 1 into an AVI file while simultaneously capturing Stereo 2 into a separate WAV file. So, you CAN get them both captured in ONE pass.
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 9th, 2004, 02:22 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 11
Thanks for the help. The scenalyzer solution works great!!!
Barry Stokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2005, 08:29 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fremont,CA. USA
Posts: 50
quick question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edward Troxel
Go ahead and let Stereo 1 be the on-camer mic and Stereo 2 be your extra mic(s).

Vegas will NOT capture stereo 2. Whenever I need to capture 4-channel audio, I use Scenalyzer Live. Scenalyzer can capture Video + Stereo 1 into an AVI file while simultaneously capturing Stereo 2 into a separate WAV file. So, you CAN get them both captured in ONE pass.
Hello Edward-
Just wanted to know about this being I will be shooting this weekend and thinking of using on-board mic of my xl1s and a wireless lav mic together. Would that be a problem with V5 as in audio capture?
__________________
To be.....or not to be
Joven OHara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2007, 09:39 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Worthington, Iowa
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Stokes View Post
Thanks for the help. The scenalyzer solution works great!!!
OK! May I ask what Scenalyzer is and what is it used for? Sorry sor the stupid questions, trying to learn!
__________________
Jeff Mayne
Gone Thinkin Outdoors
Jeff Mayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2007, 05:22 AM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
Scenalyzer is capture software. Used to import audio/video from the camcporder (or DV VCR) into th computer. Search the forum on it for more information, or visit their web site. http://www.scenalyzer.com/
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2007, 07:48 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
A second option is to capture both as mono and put them left and right rather than audio 1 and 2.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2007, 08:24 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 11
How do you set up this type of mono capture?
Barry Stokes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 20th, 2007, 03:14 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
what kind of mikes and what kind of gear between the mikes and your camera? You should be able to plug one mike into the left channel...and another into the right. Depends on what hardware you have in the flow. Could just be adapters from Radio Shack, could be a mixer.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network