no time lapse with XL1?? true or false?? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 23rd, 2002, 12:16 PM   #1
loslocos
 
Posts: n/a
no time lapse with XL1?? true or false??

I have a gig this weekend, where I will be expected to shoot a timelapse sequence. I just naturally thought that the XL1 (not the XL1s) would be capable of doing this. Am I wrong?
  Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2002, 12:55 PM   #2
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
"Am I wrong?" Yes, you are wrong. Canon introduced this feature with the XL1s model.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2002, 01:49 PM   #3
ChorizoSmells
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Osaka, Japan
Posts: 424
los locos,
a friend used to run a bar/taco stand by the same name over here 10 years ago, great name!

my old sony vx-1000 had the time lapse function, I was bummed out when I got the xl-1 and it didn't have it on there, if you use your xl-1, you'll have to do it the long way, shoot the whole thing then cut out several frames every minute or so. You could also shoot several seconds every 2-4 min. with each shot starting with a marker(a sign or your hand) so you know when the next take is so you don't repeat frames.

How long will you shoot? What are you shooting? Good luck with the shoot, let us know if you figure a good way to shoot it.

welcome aboard!
__________________
ChorizoSmells Video
Barrio Tamatsukuri, Osaka, JAPAN
Rik Sanchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2002, 04:08 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Most camcorders do not have a true time lapse feature. Some (but not the LX1) have an interval recorder that records several feames at a set interval. I tried it on a L2 years ago, did not find the effect to my liking.

Some NLE system can be set to capture a frame every so often from a realtime tape for a good time lapse effect.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 24th, 2002, 01:25 PM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
This is covered in the Watchdog FAQ at www.dvinfo.net/xl1faq.htm
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network