NEO with Vegas 7 & Premiere CS3 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 20th, 2007, 07:29 AM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Addison (Dallas) Texas
Posts: 88
NEO with Vegas 7 & Premiere CS3

I have not seen much in the last couple of weeks on general opinions on NEO. I use Vegas 7 and have just gotten Premiere Pro CS3, and am not having any real problems with either.

Is there any real advantage to getting NEO?

Buddy Frazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 09:24 AM   #2
Inner Circle
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Initially, I bought NeoHDV because I wanted the 24p pulldown capability and the flip capability for my HV20, Letus combination. That alone makes it worthwhile. But in addition.....

I have an early dual core AMD system (3800+ as I recall.) When editing HDV in Vegas, I note that playback is sputtery, the previews are poor and sound seems a bit out of synch, and the experience is just not that great in large projects. I just finished a reedit of a 48 Hour Film project, using both "native" HDV and Cineform files, and it is clear where the benefit of Cineform is, with my set up. Editing is just so much more trouble free in the Cineform codec

Now in PPro 2.0, I don't recall having as much of an issue with "native" HDV as with Vegas. I think that may be due to the fact that Premiere does try to use your video card resources too. Back about a year ago when I edited HDV with Premiere, I feel like I got pretty good performance. Recently my emphasis has been on Vegas, and I haven't compared performances since I got NeoHDV.
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 03:33 PM   #3
Regular Crew
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 110
I'm just at the point of investing in Neo, and one of the points that swayed my decision was the posting from yesterday, "Image sharpness rendering to Cineform." I use Vegas also, and it seems that you can only get "medium" sharpness with the Cineform codec you get with Vegas, while with Neo you have several other settings (High, Filmscan 1 & 2). After all, isn't a sharp picture much of the point?
James Campbell is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network