StreamPix4 with CineformRAW at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2008, 03:34 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
StreamPix4 with CineformRAW

For few HD cameras like SMX-12A2 when every camera is connected to own PC
need separate license (NEO4K) per PC or possible use one license to PC where is installed StreamPix4?
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 04:15 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Do you need to install StreamPix on each station? If so we are the same.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 06:16 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
As understand StreamPix must be installed on central PC and able to control any camera connected to PC in gigabit network with preview proxy's from each cam.
4K is 4096x2048 or bigger up to 4096x4096 ?
In my case i only need 1/4 per PC;)
4096x2048 is equal to four per 2048x1024 :D
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 06:57 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
NEO 4K is unlimited, so bigger than 4096 x 4096. If you have to install NEO 4K on multiple machines you would need multiple licenses. Really all you need is one NEO 4K or Prospect 4K for editing, a mulitple RAW encoding licenses (which would be cheaper.) Email David Taylor (or me and I will forward) to arrange that sort of this.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2008, 06:36 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 8
Proxy

Here is a response from my CTO, Philippe Candelier:

" There is no Proxy with StreamPix. You need to have StreamPix installed and running on each workstation where a camera is connected and recording is required. The camera is connected to the computer via fire wire or gigE conection, without proxy. StreamPix controls all camera features and parameters using the camera API. "
Luc Nocente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2008, 04:05 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luc Nocente View Post
Here is a response from my CTO, Philippe Candelier:

" There is no Proxy with StreamPix. You need to have StreamPix installed and running on each workstation where a camera is connected and recording is required. The camera is connected to the computer via fire wire or gigE conection, without proxy. StreamPix controls all camera features and parameters using the camera API. "
Luc, you posted also on another tread this:

Quote:
Streampix4 is listed at 1,495.00$US and is the multi camera version of the software. Using StreamPix4 you can record from 4 cameras simultaneously at 1920 x 1080 x 30 fps x 12 bits using a single computer.
What configuration of single PC was used to capture CineformRAW from 4 GiGe cameras simultaneously at 1920 x 1080 x 30 fps x 12 bits ?
Serge Victorovich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 09:26 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serge Victorovich View Post
Luc, you posted also on another tread this:



What configuration of single PC was used to capture CineformRAW from 4 GiGe cameras simultaneously at 1920 x 1080 x 30 fps x 12 bits ?

Using CineForm raw we can only capture from 2 HDTV cameras simultaneously.

We can capture from 4 cameras in one pc only if you are capturing in uncompressed format. Also, if you are capturing in 12 bit format than the camera needs to have pixel packing to do 4 cameras in one pc. otherwise, if the camera does not have pixel packing that you are limited to 3 cameras in one pc with uncompressed format and 16 bits.
Luc Nocente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 09:29 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serge Victorovich View Post
As understand StreamPix must be installed on central PC and able to control any camera connected to PC in gigabit network with preview proxy's from each cam.
4K is 4096x2048 or bigger up to 4096x4096 ?
In my case i only need 1/4 per PC;)
4096x2048 is equal to four per 2048x1024 :D
What camera are you using to do 4096 x 2048? Are you using a camera link camera?
Luc Nocente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2008, 09:33 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Do you need to install StreamPix on each station? If so we are the same.
Yes, one copy of StreamPix per computer. If you have 2 or 4 cameras in one pc then you only need 1 copy of StreamPix4.
Luc Nocente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2008, 09:53 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 394
Streampix + Cineform RAW workflow

Hi David. I am going to a 1080p GigE camera with a 1-inch Kodak CCD sensor. I was told that I need Streampix + Cineform RAW + Prospect 2K for my CS3 workflow.
Is that correct ?
If I have a Cineform RAW license - do I still need a separate license to edit the captured video ??



Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
NEO 4K is unlimited, so bigger than 4096 x 4096. If you have to install NEO 4K on multiple machines you would need multiple licenses. Really all you need is one NEO 4K or Prospect 4K for editing, a mulitple RAW encoding licenses (which would be cheaper.) Email David Taylor (or me and I will forward) to arrange that sort of this.
Anmol Mishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2008, 11:53 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,095
Quote:
If I have a Cineform RAW license - do I still need a separate license to edit the captured video ??
If you simply want to read the files, and you have a pretty fast machine (at least very fast dual-core for 1080P) so that you don't need the multi-resolution decoding capabilities of P2K, then you can get by with the free NeoPlayer codec. I also believe on a fast machine, NeoPlayer can work for single-stream editing, but I would have to defer whether that works to David and let him answer that question. But NeoPlayer is ideal if you want to either work on the Mac/FCP (and don't need encoding capabilities on the Mac back to CineForm 444), or if you want to import your files into After Effects, etc.

If your machine is slower, so that you need the real-time half-resolution playback options, or you want multi-stream real-time editing with effects, then you will need P2K.

Also P2K in PPro CS3 enables you to edit the active metadata associated with a file such as the white-balance, matrix, etc. So there is a lot of added value for RAW workflows beyond real-time multi-stream editing (which is impressive in itself).
Jason Rodriguez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 05:25 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 394
David, Can I confirm if the free NeoPlayer works for single stream editing ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Rodriguez View Post
I also believe on a fast machine, NeoPlayer can work for single-stream editing, but I would have to defer whether that works to David and let him answer that question. But NeoPlayer is ideal if you want to either work on the Mac/FCP (and don't need encoding capabilities on the Mac back to CineForm 444), or if you want to import your files into After Effects, etc.

Does this mean that I cannot use the files encoded with Cineform RAW and use Colorama, and any advanced After Effects filters ? I will be doing special effects - so its not all cut-editing.. However real-time playback is not required..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Rodriguez View Post
Also P2K in PPro CS3 enables you to edit the active metadata associated with a file such as the white-balance, matrix, etc. So there is a lot of added value for RAW workflows beyond real-time multi-stream editing (which is impressive in itself).
Anmol Mishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 10:33 AM   #13
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
NEO Player is simply a decoder, that all is does. So you can use it in most NLE, or compositing tools, but you will be messing a lot. If you intending to use CS3 on the PC, you will be missing the most, there we offer the most performance enablements and color manipulation features. You can try both workflows for free.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 12:10 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 394
This is what I understand - please correct me if I wrong..

I capture using Cineform RAW.
I download the NeoPlayer.
With this, I can do anything within an NLE - however I cannot re-encode (to a cineform codec, but I can to another one) or take advantage of the real-time editing..
However, I have a Blackmagic intensity card, so I can do a realtime preview on an external HDMI monitor anyway..

When you say
<<<
edit the active metadata associated with a file such as the white-balance, matrix, etc.
>>>

does this mean that NOT using Cineform P2K hides color information within a Cineform encoded file ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
NEO Player is simply a decoder, that all is does. So you can use it in most NLE, or compositing tools, but you will be messing a lot. If you intending to use CS3 on the PC, you will be missing the most, there we offer the most performance enablements and color manipulation features. You can try both workflows for free.

Last edited by Anmol Mishra; March 16th, 2008 at 12:12 PM. Reason: correction
Anmol Mishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2008, 06:09 PM   #15
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anmol Mishra View Post
This is what I understand - please correct me if I wrong..

I capture using Cineform RAW.
I download the NeoPlayer.
With this, I can do anything within an NLE - however I cannot re-encode (to a cineform codec, but I can to another one) or take advantage of the real-time editing..
However, I have a Blackmagic intensity card, so I can do a realtime preview on an external HDMI monitor anyway..

When you say
<<<
edit the active metadata associated with a file such as the white-balance, matrix, etc.
>>>

does this mean that NOT using Cineform P2K hides color information within a Cineform encoded file ??
I don't know if Blackmagic support real-time playback of third party codecs, but otherwise you description is correct.

Color information is carried as metadata (it is real cool, and get cooler), in the free decoder you can turn the metadata off or on, but you can't make changes to the metadata. So you still do tranditional color correction as if where any other file type. With the full editing tools you can alter the metadata to simplify color work and applying 3D Looks (full secondary color profiles) to your media.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network