What shall I use? Aspect or Prospect? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 13th, 2008, 05:12 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lohe-Rickelshof, Germany
Posts: 3
What shall I use? Aspect or Prospect?

Hi,

I need help. I bought a new Canon HV30 and I want to use Cineform. Which kind of version shall I buy? Aspect HD or Prospect? I use APP CS3 for editing.

Thanx
Joerg
Joerg Falk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2008, 10:12 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
AspectHD will work fine with the Canon.

Prospect input/output can be 10-bit (rather than 8-bit) and 1920x1080 (rather than 1440x1080). (Both are 10-bit internally.) If either of those features are worth $500 to you, get Prospect. Remember that files off tape from the Canon are 1440x1080.

I assume you've seen the product selector guide on this page?
http://www.cineform.com/products/aspect-prospect.htm
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 07:51 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
You can get some nice 1920x1080 footage from tape on the HV20... just off load the tape through the HDMI port via Black Magic... not the firewire port.

I use Prospect... started with the Aspect and just had to upgrade.... :-)
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2008, 08:39 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 1,832
Once recorded on tape the signal out from the camera is 4:2:0 1440x1080. HDMI is a video transfer, fire wire is a data transfer, which means that (despite all the hype) HDMI is no better than fire wire transfer, no it even loses all meta data, such as time code, exposure, date and time stamp, shutter speed and other data.

HDMI has no value other than for direct display on a HD monitor, for the rest fire wire is the better solution, unless you are talking about live recording, then HDMI may in some cases (depending on the camera and the HV30 is not one of them) offer you a poor man's HD-SDI like connection.
Harm Millaard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2008, 02:28 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Antioch, TN
Posts: 67
Agreed! Unless it's live, go with firewire.
William Middleton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:36 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network