Aspect HD - Page 6 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 24th, 2003, 11:12 AM   #76
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Buy the 6.5 version. :) The Premiere Pro version is still a couple of months away, and the price will go up. Aspect HD for Premiere 6.5 is $1200, and it includes the free Premiere Pro upgrade of Aspect HD while we aren't taking pre-orders on Pro. So if you have HD project now, you will have paid for this product many times over before Aspect HD for P.Pro ships.
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2003, 04:15 PM   #77
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 57
YES..

great!
John Eriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2003, 07:37 PM   #78
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 57
What is the diffirance with JY-HD10E and JY HD10U?

Can somone answer this 3 questions?

1.Is the JY-HD10E fully supported with Aspect HD?
2.Does the JY-HD10E record PAL on any mode HD/SD/DV?
3.Does it output a PAL signal from the S-VHS and the compoite port? Or is that also NTSC, and what is the diffirance with JY-HD10E and JY HD10U?

Thanks!
John Eriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2003, 07:52 PM   #79
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: What is the diffirance with JY-HD10E and JY HD10U?

The JY-HD10U and the JY-HD10E are the same camera. It has no PAL mode (and therefore fully compatible with Aspect HD.)

This site lists its specs.
http://www.provis.com.au/products/video/jy_hd10e.htm
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2003, 08:22 PM   #80
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 57
not even ??

not even PAL signal from the S-VHS and the composite port?

thanks!
John Eriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2003, 09:29 PM   #81
HDV Cinema
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4,007
JVC GR-PD1 for thePAL world

Digital Full Progressive Video Camera

• 1/3-inch 1.18 Megapixel Progressive Scan CCD with Hybrid Complementary-Primary Digital Filter

• Hi-Def F1.8-F1.9 Optically Stabilised Zoom Lens

• MPEG-2 Recording on MiniDV Cassette

• Multi-Format Recording and Playback:

* DV PAL Interlace: 4:3 625/50i

* MPEG-2 PAL Progressive: 16:9 625/50p

* MPEG-2 PAL Progressive: 16:9 625/25p

* MPEG-2 PAL Progressive: 4:3 625/50p
__________________
Switcher's Quick Guide to the Avid Media Composer >>> http://home.mindspring.com/~d-v-c
Steve Mullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2003, 12:53 AM   #82
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 57
jepp.

yes, I have heard of this, but there is no HD on that one.. thanks anyways..
John Eriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2003, 10:04 AM   #83
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: not even ??

<<<-- Originally posted by John Eriksson : not even PAL signal from the S-VHS and the composite port? -->>>

Not even. :(
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 25th, 2003, 09:19 PM   #84
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 64
David,

If I created a 5.1 soundtrack, is there a way to export that as Dolby Digital with the Mpeg2 stream so I would have a DVHS with DD5.1 sound?

Thanks,

Jay
Jay Nemeth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2003, 09:35 AM   #85
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
<<<-- Originally posted by Jay Nemeth : David,

If I created a 5.1 soundtrack, is there a way to export that as Dolby Digital with the Mpeg2 stream so I would have a DVHS with DD5.1 sound?-->>>

Good question. I know Premiere Pro adds 5.1 support and it comes with a Dolby Digital trial encoder (you can use it three time before you have to buy a license.) I haven't determined yet how that can be added to transport streams. I'll put that on my list of things to learn.
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6th, 2003, 12:03 AM   #86
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 57
HD to DV PROBLEM

First I converted the HD to DV and then when I was going to export it to tape via firewire.. BUT it become anamorphic (vertical strech) And I dont want that!!

I want "the black borders" How can I get that without going in to Afer Effects, And does Aspect HD support that directly?
John Eriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2003, 11:12 AM   #87
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
John,

Firstly anamorphic export to DV from 16:9 HD is normally the desired operation. The black border letterboxing is a feature of analog exporting from your DV deck to a 4:3 display. Basically the black borders are not rendered into you output as downstream DV devices can normally handle 16:9 to 4:3 conversions. When you are exporting to VHS, or formats that generally are not anamorphic, you could dumb from your DV deck (in the 16:9 to 4:3 mode), or play the analog signal straight off the timeline using a Maxtox P750 or Parhelia card. This is the way recommended for Aspect HD also.
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2003, 04:19 PM   #88
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 57
Yes, but I dont want to do any special trix..

Yes, but how do I make a direct "black borders" -copy out on to DV tape without using After Effects or any special trix in premiere,

I just want it to give the correct black borders on scrub directly?
Is this somehow possible? (with or wihout aspect HD)?? I don´t like the anamorpic idea, cause I have a 4:3 telly! What settings or changes will I have to do in premiere or on the camcorder to get this to work?
/John
John Eriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7th, 2003, 04:53 PM   #89
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It might be a setting on your DV camera (not all have this.) However you can do it under Premiere:

1) Right click on a clip on your timeline.
2) Select "Video Option" -> "Maintain Aspect Ratio"
3) Repeat 1-2 for all clips.
4) Then export the timeline as DV.


If you have a lot of clips, export the whole time line in some interim format (CFHD -- for Aspect HD, or HUFFYUV or uncompressed if not Aspect HD.) Re-import the new one clip, set the fixed aspect ratio, then export to DV.
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2003, 02:18 PM   #90
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 57
thanks!

thanks!
John Eriksson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network