Premiere Installer issue with 4.0.1.210 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 18th, 2009, 07:34 PM   #1
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Premiere Installer issue with 4.0.1.210

All the download links have been refresh with build that logs what the installer is doing. If you are having issues getting the correct components into CS3 and/or CS4, download the software again, uninstall, and reinstall the new version. If the installer still made errors, email me (dnewman@...) the log file, which will appear in the Programs/CineForm/[Software name]/Install.log.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2009, 09:15 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Don't miss this one. We need some feedback from end-users as we are having no installer issues internally.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 11:46 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 497
Just tried it out about 1 hour ago.

I had CS4 only on my machine but since that crashes every 5 minutes due to the beloved Importerprocess error, I installed CS3 again.

The new installer installed cineform in both folders properly. Works fine.

Any word when Adobe will have the update ready yet David? Did you get your information yet from them regarding the dreaded Importerprocess error?

Thanks,

Simon
Simon Zimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 12:43 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Simon,

Finally getting feedback form Adobe so fingered crossed.


Others: Need more users to try the new installers with logging (see 1st post above.) Particularly need users who had installer problems with CS4 components going into CS3 directories.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 04:02 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 221
Dave which links can you put your link here so I get the right one.
Bruce Gruber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 04:16 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Issaquah, WA
Posts: 19
I installed Prospect HD with CS4 without any issues. However I'm encoutering the same problem has many other here with the importer process in PP CS4: After a couple edits in PP this process crashes... Unfortunately, I cannot use CF intermediate format for now with CS4.

Guillaume
Guillaume Roques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 04:32 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We just found the installer bug -- thank to all those how provided feedback. It is only in Prospect HD, not in NEO or 4K products. We will get out a new release ASAP.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 04:40 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Premeire CS3 and After Effects still have issues

I did the install fix. That worked but AE CS4 still crashes during preview and the playback in Premeire CS3 is choppy. The cineform cross dissolves do not work amonst other things. I can't check everything but a lot seems to be wrong. Basically my workstation is useless and I cannot edit on my system.

Needless to say I cannot work on my projects with this product.
Dustin Kersnowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 05:07 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 497
Quote:
Originally Posted by Guillaume Roques View Post
I installed Prospect HD with CS4 without any issues. However I'm encoutering the same problem has many other here with the importer process in PP CS4: After a couple edits in PP this process crashes... Unfortunately, I cannot use CF intermediate format for now with CS4.

Guillaume
Same here. It was working half way decently for about 3 hours and all of the sudden it crashes right when I open up the project. So frustrating!

I love Cineform but these conflicts with CS4 are killing me.

Simon
Simon Zimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 06:21 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Dustin & et al,

Hmm.. Are people not reading the previous posts.

Delete these files:
CFHD_AVI_Importer.prm
CFHD_File_Exporter.prm
CFHD_MOV_Importer.prm
from
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Settings\en_US\CineForm
or
C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Settings\en_US\CineForm

This is an PHD install only problem, P4K, N4K abd NHD are fine. Trying to get a fix out ASAP.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 06:52 PM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 10
I did delete those files

I did delete those importer files for Premiere but I left the export file.

AE was also reacting kind of funky. Importing files into AE4 would sometime crash and scrubbbing through the timeline there seemed to be a color shift. I opened an old AE CS3 file once and while I scrubbed the comp window would turn black with a red blocks.
Dustin Kersnowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 07:13 PM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Please submit a trouble ticket as it very confusing through the forum. Nothing has changed for CS3, so those likely are installer issues.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 09:39 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Dustin & et al,

Hmm.. Are people not reading the previous posts.

Delete these files:
CFHD_AVI_Importer.prm
CFHD_File_Exporter.prm
CFHD_MOV_Importer.prm
from
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Settings\en_US\CineForm
or
C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Settings\en_US\CineForm

This is an PHD install only problem, P4K, N4K abd NHD are fine. Trying to get a fix out ASAP.
David,

The directory where the 3 files get installed is here:

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Plug-ins\en_US\CineForm

I am not sure if others have looked and believed everything was OK since they are not where you specified.

For me, once I deleted the files, everything worked, so far.

Rick
Rick Casillas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2009, 10:02 PM   #14
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Rick,

Thank you, I my rush I cut and paste from the wrong directory.

We should get a new build that fixes this install issue out tomorrow, we delayed slightly as some other fixes a nearly done.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2009, 08:31 AM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 34
Thank You

Although I haven't posted much here, I am a big fan of Cineform. (Still using PPro CS3)
I track the blogs here daily. I simply want to take a brief moment amid all the people testing the new release of Prospect and say Thanks to David for working so hard and communicating with so many on-line users and to the users who try so hard to test and report results to each other!
Greg Kubitschek is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network