HDlink issue - Conversion Crash at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 25th, 2009, 05:16 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 10
HDlink issue - Conversion Crash

So I am trying to pull HDV footage off a A1 camera using HDlink. I tried using the capture where it captures m2t and converts to AVI. Problem was the resulting AVI was garbage, almost total fallout. I'm using a dell XPS 410 3GB ram, 2.66ghz, 8600 graphics card. Using a firewire cable. I assume it's a bandwidth issue. What specs does it take to capture and convert in one swoop?

My other issue is when I capture straight to m2t (which works fine) and try to convert to AVI using the Convert function. It will convert small files fine, but when I try converting a large m2t (1gb plus) the software locks up and crashes. Any ideas?

I can import m2t into AE and Premiere just fine. What are the downfalls to using m2t files instead of converted AVIs?
Tom Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 05:22 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
FireWire port of your PC is bad or poorly implemented. What is happening, is the increase processing load on the CPU (for transcoding) is repreventing all one of the packets form camera to PC form being serviced. This points to a poor FireWire implementation, and it is not a software failure. We been able to do this just working a PC hard while capturing M2T only (the M2T file get corrupted.) Camera M2T to PC transportation has no error recovery, so every packet much be received. Buy a $10 FireWire card from Fry's, fixes this in 95% of systems.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 05:38 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 10
Thanks for the info David. I will purchase a new card and try again.
Tom Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 05:44 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 10
David, that however doesn't explain why converting m2t to AVI locally fails on large files. Any idea there?
Tom Delaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25th, 2009, 06:04 PM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
M2T errors that don't hurt AE might still hurt our conversion. There is no reason for a short conversion to work and a long one to fail -- all the same to software, unless there are errors in the bitstream. I think a FireWire replacement is still a likely fix.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network