Resizing in NeoHD at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 12th, 2009, 01:04 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Resizing in NeoHD

I currently use Neoscene and am considering upgrading to NeoHD to take advantage of its additional features. One of those features is resizing. I noticed that NeoHD uses the Lanczos 3 resizing algorithm. My current HD to SD resizing work flow is: Edit Cineform Neoscene HD in Vegas Pro 8; final edited output is Neoscene files; Load the edited Cineform files into TMPGEnc Express 4.0 and resize / export MPG-2 SD files which I then author in either DVD Lab Pro or DVD Architect. I use TMPGEnc because it uses Lanczos 3 which does a better job at resizing than Vegas / Main Concepts does.

Would there be any advantage to resizing the Cineform files in Vegas to SD before outputting SD MPEG files from Vegas instead of TMPEnc? My objective is the most efficient and simple work flow while maintaining the best resizing and MPEG-2 encoding.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2009, 08:24 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 112
Hi Jim,

The fewer transcodes the better once you're out of our format, but I'm not sure if you'd see much of a difference in final quality due to the scaling in the two workflows you've outlined.

Because of some less-than-desirable scaling done by some NLEs and DVD creation software, we have recommended that users do the scale using the HDLink utility in the Neo/Prospect family prior to creating DVDs.

However, if your MPEG exporter is already using the same scaling algorithm, there may not be a quality benefit, but it sounds like an interesting test. You can trial Neo HD if you want and see for yourself. Your Neo Scene activation will be preserved so you won't need to re-activate or anything.

Another advantage is if you're editing interlaced content and wishing to export a progressive DVD, we can do the deinterlace during the conversion and scale to preserve the most quality.
__________________
Tim Bucklin
CineForm Software Engineer
Tim Bucklin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2009, 08:41 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Thanks Tim, I will give it a try to see how it works out. It will certainly be a more convenient work flow if I can downsize Cineform files from HD to SD while in Vegas to take advantage of its Lanczos 3 resizing. The last step after the resize would be an MPEG-2 SD render.

I really appreciate Cineform's active participation in this forum. I wish other software companies would follow your example.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 11:54 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Charlotte, VT
Posts: 18
How do you downsize Cineform files from HD to SD in Vegas? Also, in Vegas is there a way to render directly to a Cineform avi?

Thanks.
Jan Cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 01:54 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Jan, I just downloaded the trial version of Neo HD and it appears that resizing can only be done in the HDLink utility. As for your second question, you can render Cineform files if your have a Cineform encoder installed.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 09:32 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Charlotte, VT
Posts: 18
Jim, I have using Neo HD which works wonderfully in Vegas 9 giving me full frame rate playback. I'm still not clear though on how to do the down convert from HD to SD. Do you use one of the scripts in the utilities.

Regarding rendering to Cineform avis I don't see an option other than rendering to a conventional avi file and then if I want to put that back on the timeline and have a full frame rate playback I'd have to convert it again to a Cineform intermedieate with HD Link. Is there a better way to do that?
Jan Cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 10:28 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Jan, I was hoping that it would be possible to resize in Vegas using Cineform. Unfortunately it isn't possible. Resizing can be accomplished using HDLink but not on the timeline.

There is an extensive thread about various ways to resize from HD to SD here Maximizing HD to SD Quality
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 10:51 PM   #8
Sponsor: CineForm
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Cardiff-By-The-Sea, CA
Posts: 153
Am I missing something, guys?

Can't you just 'render as' using custom settings? In fact, I just that tried it and it works.

In the Render As settings (video tab), choose CineForm HD Codec for the Video Format, Make the Framesize NTSC DV (720x480). Framerate and field order should match your source footage/timeline. And for pixel aspect ratio, choose 1.2121.

That will give you a SD sized widescreen CineForm file.

Does that not work for you? or are you trying to crop it to 4:3?

Let me know more details and i'll try to help.
__________________
Jake Segraves
Technical Support Manager | GoPro...Be a HERO.
Jake Segraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 11:02 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Edit: Thanks Jake. I took another look and found that it is possible to resize from HD to SD within Vegas using the Cineform codec. Great! I am going to do some testing to compare the results with other methods that were discussed in the thread that I referenced above.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 12:01 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Charlotte, VT
Posts: 18
Thanks Jake and Jim.

For rendering something that will go back on the timeline, i.e. stills that stutter with pan/crop on them, rendering to a Cinefor avi seems the way to go for smooth playback. Yes?

Jim, I'll be interested in the results of your resizing in Vegas. Thanks too for the link to the HD to SD discussion. I slogged through the whole thing and will study it more after I try a few of the suggestions. It was very informative; thanks to all who posted there.

I'm still a little unclear about the work flow though. What have you found to work best? Rendering in Vegas to a full size i.e. 1920x1080p avi file (my source footage is 30p and converted to Cineform) using Cineform, Lagarith or uncompressed for the avi file?

I will resize in Virutal Dub and that is the next thing I have to learn about. But before starting there I want to make sure that I am taking the right thing in.

Thanks.
Jan Cannon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network