Cineform Workflow help at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 17th, 2009, 10:58 AM   #1
New Boot
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norristown PA
Posts: 5
Cineform Workflow help

Hey all. So im looking for some workflow help. Basically i have a Canon HV20, which outputs to HDV .mts files. What i used to do before was use cs3 on xp with cineform. I would import my files into Premiere, do my editing, and export out as a cineform file with aspecthd. Then i would import that into After Effects and use the Export > Quicktime option so i could export the file out as a Quicktime H264/AAC compliant file. Everything seemed good and such.

Well ive now gotten Windows 7 and purchased CS4 and ProspectHD. But now when i do my same workflow, it seems as if the quality after the quicktime export is not as sharp and clear. Im not sure why, maybe im seeing things. What im wondering is, is there anyway i can use Quicktime Pro with the exported cineform file and skip using after effects all together? Ive tried opening the cineform file with quicktime and exporting but when the export is finished im left with a weird black encoded file that is just a bunch of colors outlined of the video.

Im just trying to get the best quality possible out of CS3 or CS4 into a Quicktime H264 compliant file for web streaming.

Last edited by Matt Young; October 17th, 2009 at 02:33 PM.
Matt Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2009, 02:57 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
I have had better luck encoding H.264 files in CS3 than CS4. Make your Cineform HD master regardless. Then compare these options:

Export H.264 from AE CS3
Export H.264 from AE CS4
Export to H264 directly off your Premiere Timeline
Rewrap your Cineform AVI to an MOV in HDLink, and then use QT-Pro

Compare all those files to see which has the best quality. I suspect AE CS3 will give you the best quality for the least work.
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:08 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network