Blu-Ray Export Help at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 1st, 2010, 03:17 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Blu-Ray Export Help

Not sure if this thread should be here for DVD authoring but as the raw footage is Cineforn thought I'd post it here. I'm editing a 20 min DVD/Bluray from a car event and I have a problem with the exported footage.

The reds and oranges flicker on the export bluray disc other colours seem to be fine. When I've got a panning shot and you pan past one of these colours you get a ghosting effect? Not sure I've had this problem before. The footage looks fine in CS4 and can't see the flickering/ghost.

The footage is export using automatic settings in Encore. Footage is from the Sony Z1.

I should say I'm watching the bluray via my Sony PS3 on a LCD telly.

Can anyone help me?

Last edited by David Dwyer; May 1st, 2010 at 06:13 PM.
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2010, 09:35 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 227
CFHD out to BluRay

I've been using Cineform .avi files to author DVDs and BluRays for 3 years, first with DVDitProHD and now on Win7/CS4 Encore. My DVDs and BluRays play fine on both players and my PS3 with none of the odd effects you are seing. Both programs previewed the .avi files fine too. Did they look OK in preview? Old cam was Sony HDR-HC1 and new one is Panny HDC-TM300 (AVCHD onto SHDC cards).

On DVD builds, I do use one of the progressive presets so I see no "jaggies".
Don Blish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 04:11 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
I've just encoded a DVD and off to test that but the main problem is with the bluray discs.
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2nd, 2010, 12:24 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Yes its on DVD but can't see it as much. I've just checked my converted Cineform file and the flicker is on there. I have the orignial cineform file from the camera a m2t 1440*1080 and its not flickering, then I used HDlink to resize it to 1920*1080.

Using HDlink to convert the m2t into CFHD without the resize and going to see whats its like now.
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 04:30 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
I can't get rid of this flicker - Its bright colours that fick but its only in the CineForm AVI. In the CineForm m2t file its fine!

I'm going to capture the tape again and see.

Last edited by David Dwyer; May 4th, 2010 at 07:47 PM.
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 04:51 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
http://www.northern-loop.tv/Video/encore%20m2t.JPG

http://www.northern-loop.tv/Video/cineform%20avi.JPG

The 1st JPG is the M2T captured from the camera - This plays without* any flickering.

The 2nd JPG flickers on the PC and on export bluray discs - Why is Encore picking it up as 4*3 and the m2t is fine?

I'm uploading the M2T file and AVI now as well. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Last edited by David Dwyer; May 4th, 2010 at 06:54 PM.
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 04:57 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
http://www.northern-loop.tv/Video/VM...y%2001-001.m2t

http://www.northern-loop.tv/Video/VM...01-001-001.avi

Right click save as
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 05:40 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I can't get the problem to occur, so please work with support.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 05:52 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
I can't get the problem to occur, so please work with support.
You can't see the flicker in the AVI I have uploaded? How are you playing the file?
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 06:07 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Dwyer View Post
The footage is export using automatic settings in Encore. Footage is from the Sony Z1.

I should say I'm watching the bluray via my Sony PS3 on a LCD telly.

Can anyone help me?
I can't tell what's going on from the information provided, but I would be interested to know if your Cineform.avi is 1440x1080 60i 1.3 par (the HDV spec), or did you convert the HDV to full raster 1920x1080 60i square pixel CF.avi. I ask because I have had various artifact issues (jaggies, line twitter, etc.) associated with transcoding 1440 60i CF to either BR or DVD
My procedure for output to BR is to have my edited footage as 1920x1080 60i CF, then to transcode to BR 1920x1080 60i (either mpeg or h.264) by exporting the project to AME wherein I can set & control all of the parameters. I then import the BR file to Encore, author, & burn. It's usually quite bulletproof and produces stunning HD, free of artifacts.
Good luck
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 06:09 PM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
David,

Yes, the AVI looks fine. MediaPlayer, GraphEdit and in VirtualDub.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 06:27 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Young View Post
I can't tell what's going on from the information provided, but I would be interested to know if your Cineform.avi is 1440x1080 60i 1.3 par (the HDV spec), or did you convert the HDV to full raster 1920x1080 60i square pixel CF.avi. I ask because I have had various artifact issues (jaggies, line twitter, etc.) associated with transcoding 1440 60i CF to either BR or DVD
My procedure for output to BR is to have my edited footage as 1920x1080 60i CF, then to transcode to BR 1920x1080 60i (either mpeg or h.264) by exporting the project to AME wherein I can set & control all of the parameters. I then import the BR file to Encore, author, & burn. It's usually quite bulletproof and produces stunning HD, free of artifacts.
Good luck
Yeah I havent changed the file - See the M2t and AVI I have uploaded.

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
David,

Yes, the AVI looks fine. MediaPlayer, GraphEdit and in VirtualDub.
I'm using Windows Media player and the AVI is horrid. I dropped both clips into encore and burnt them to a BR disc, the m2t file is fine but the AVI flickers and you see the reds/oranges come right out.

Okay another file being uploaded - I got out my little CX105 and recorded whats on my Dell 24" TFT
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 06:31 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
http://www.northern-loop.tv/Video/00006.MTS

I know the quailty isnt perfect on this video but the 1st file is the M2T that plays fine, then I click to the next file the CF AVI and you can see its flickering surely?
David Dwyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 07:32 PM   #14
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Filming a screen always looks bad, but I can't see issues with red/orange flicker. Think you might be confusing interlace motion artifacts, what are present, but no color changes here (maybe a monitor artifact.) To play interlaced on a computer monitor you need some sort of deinterlace, many mpeg/H264 decoders do that automatically, but that can be bad for a finishing codec. Set in Start->Programs->CineForm->Tools set "Desktop Player - Fast" that defaults to a blend deinterlace.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 07:52 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chester, North West
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Filming a screen always looks bad, but I can't see issues with red/orange flicker. Think you might be confusing interlace motion artifacts, what are present, but no color changes here (maybe a monitor artifact.) To play interlaced on a computer monitor you need some sort of deinterlace, many mpeg/H264 decoders do that automatically, but that can be bad for a finishing codec. Set in Start->Programs->CineForm->Tools set "Desktop Player - Fast" that defaults to a blend deinterlace.
Okay thanks - Setting it to Desktop player does sort out the deinterlace/fickering problem on the PC.

I can't work why the reds/oranges flicker on the bluray dvd on the Sony PS3 - Is it just a interlace problem? I thought the PS3 would sort that out as the footage is interlaced?

I don't know if I'm coming or going so I'll reconvert the M2T file and render and export everything again.

Do I need to do anything special in Encore?

Footage is 1440*1080 1.33
David Dwyer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network