Cineform RAW workflow - First Light not working at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 28th, 2010, 08:49 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Iceland
Posts: 2
Cineform RAW workflow - First Light not working

Hey everybody!

This forum looks like a godsend. I just shot a short on the SI-2K and it was my first time working on the camera so the workflow is alien to me. I'm working with Premiere Pro CS5 on a Windows 7 64bit machine.

My first instinct was to use FirstLight to do my initial metadata editing, but everytime I try to open a .mov file from the camera the flplayer refuses to show any image, but instead just shows a gray square where the image should be. If anybody has had this a solution would be great! I tried installing Neo4K and Quicktime but neither helped.

But here is the other question; Do I really need to work within First Light? Can i edit my RAW metadata from within Premiere Pro CS5 or some other software/NLE?? I tried to access it through "playback settings" in PP like some tutorial showed but I didn't get the same options as in that tutorial (it was for CS3).

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Krummi Jonsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2010, 09:58 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
FirstLight is the only activate metadata editing tool. It can be accessed through CS5, but that just launches FirstLight for the selected clip. So you will need to fix you display issues. As I have heard of this error before, you should file a trouble ticket with support. My only guess is you graphic card is not supporting the default surface FL uses. You can switch it to using OpenGL. With a clip imported in FL, go to the View menu, and select "OpenGL Playuer Preferences". In the new pop-op, select "Use OpenGL for 2D Playback", and click "OK".
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 04:31 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canberra Australia
Posts: 227
Hi Krummi,

Re-wrap the mov to AVI in HDLink and it should work - it does for me anyway.

cheers
Rohan
__________________
Lighting Cameraman - www.rotahead.com.au
Sony PMW-350, FS7, JVC LS300, BMPCC, BMPC, GH5 & a shed full of lights,dollies, jibs
Rohan Dadswell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 08:19 AM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Iceland
Posts: 2
hey, it seems like it's a GPU issue. I'm using a laptop which has Nvidias Optimus graphics switching technology and swithing from the Nvidia m310 to the integrated Intel graphics chip fixed the proplem. But now I'm using a far inferior GPU to do my editing which is kind of a bummer.
Krummi Jonsson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 11:05 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You should look into driver updates as FirstLight (all CineForm tools) to not do anything custom with GPU intensionally to avoid this type of issue. We use the standard Video Mixing Render (same and Media Player) or opinionally OpenGL.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network