Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 5th, 2011, 07:08 PM   #1
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

Windows (Codec tweaks and fixes):
Neo3D http://cineform.com/downloads/Neo3Dv550b319-110505.zip
Neo http://cineform.com/downloads/NeoV550b319-110505.zip

Also new Mac (Codec + AE + FirstLight tweaks and fixes):
Neo3D http://cineform.com/downloads/Neo3DM...17b-110505.zip
Neo http://cineform.com/downloads/NeoMac...17b-110505.zip
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2011, 05:23 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 230
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

MAC feedback:

Overlays now work in FL. That's good. Would be nice to have a luminence one as well as the RGB.
Also, do these really need to be overlays burnt into the video? I'd be quite happy seeing all these scopes in a separate pane, like with synthetic aperture and other color tools.

Still some problems though:

1. Looks seem to have stopped working now though. No matter which one I apply the picture doesnt change.

2. Changes aren't sticking even though I save a project. Eg, I turn off primaries and save the porject. When I open it again, Primaries are turned on.

3. The GUI resets every time you open it. I always want the media bin open and the second display to show my video full screen, but I have to set these manually each time. Quite frustrating.
Brian Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2011, 01:14 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 142
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

1 & 2. Check the permissions for the path to your database folder. The default is /Library/Application Support/CineForm/LUTs. The user account you are using needs r/w access to this path and all enclosed folders.

3. It never did, but it is a good idea.
Craig Davidson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2011, 01:37 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 230
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

I reverted to using the default directory for Cineform LUTs (I had changed it to a folder on a SMB share). Now the looks do actually work again. But the Cinestyle look that David created doesnt appear even though I copied it into the same default directory.

Re: the project changes not sticking. I have tested again and now changes appear to be sticking, so I guess that I was mistaken in that last post.

I can also confirm that First Light is remembering it's last settings. I haven't tried making any presets yet, but they were also being wiped out between sessions in the previous beta.
Brian Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2011, 01:53 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 230
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

Maybe I copied the look to the wrong folder. On my machine in Library/Application Support/ I have a folder called Cineform and another one called CineformX, and within CineformX I have a folder called Cineform which itself has a LUTs folder. That means that I have 3 folders in total that contain LUTs. Do I need to do some housekeeping?

And what does the override path mean?
Brian Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2011, 03:24 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

Just double click on the .look and it installs automatically. Don't mess with the override path.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2011, 04:40 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: toronto, canada
Posts: 212
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

windows fl:
i had a similar issue with the looks not applying. if i switched to automatic, then back to full resolution playback, they applied. dont know it that is the same issue.

double clicking on a .look on a mac with neoplayer doesnt do anything.
__________________
Justin Lovell
cinematographer//8mm.16mm>HD.transfers . www.framediscreet.com
Justin Lovell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2011, 05:04 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 230
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

Yes, the cinestyle doesnt work for me at all. I've given up for now.

New bug:
Exporting trillions of colors RGB+alpha, or just trillions of colors RGB produces garbage video for me. In a shot of a girl's head in CU, all I get is her head ghosted in 3 places on the screen: far left, middle, and far right.

Millions of colors RGB produced a viewable video.
Brian Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2011, 05:26 PM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

On the Mac, drop the .look into FirstLight (I think).

AE trillions export I believe has been solved.

Craig, can you please confirm both of these.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2011, 05:27 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Lovell View Post
double clicking on a .look on a mac with neoplayer doesnt do anything.
Not with NeoPlayer, you need FirstLight to set and install LUTs.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2011, 06:06 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 230
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

Another bug:

The first time I open a sequence with clips in it, I have to physically click on the video in the program monitor to get it to display. Until I do that the program monitor is just grey.
Brian Parker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2011, 10:41 PM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

Doesn't sound like much of a bug to me. If you have bugs to report that do impact you workflow, submit a trouble ticket -- that is the only way they get official logged.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2011, 09:47 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 142
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
On the Mac, drop the .look into FirstLight (I think).

AE trillions export I believe has been solved.

Craig, can you please confirm both of these.
Yes on both. You still need to manually modify the CS5 configuration file so AE does select the deep pixel formats. If it is allowing you to select the trillions, or trillions+, you have the modification.
Craig Davidson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2011, 04:33 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Posts: 147
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

When will GoPro Cineform Studio Premium be available? I like the free GoPro Cineform Interface and way to trim videos. Thanks,

Leo
Leo Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2011, 04:36 PM   #15
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Re: Last Neo3D / Neo beta (Mac and PC)

Yes it is cool, and that new trim interface will be supported in the professional tools. We are working on it, amougst many new features.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:22 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network