Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 27th, 2011, 03:56 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,172
Cineform Sony NEX support?

Hi guys,

These days I've been doing mostly still photo but occasionally I still do some video. The files from the Sony NEX cameras are a pain to deal with on Premiere CS5 so I've downloaded a Neo Scene trial to see if it could make my life easier...but when I've opened the program to convert the files and selected the folder where the NEX files were I could see they didn't seem to be supported.

Can anyone confirm this? It would really be a shame because the NEX-5N and the NEX-7 are great for shooting high quality video.
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2011, 05:18 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 37
Re: Cineform Sony NEX support?

Cineform studio needs MOV or MP4 containers for input, I think rewrapping the M2TS produced by the NEX into either of those and the program will be able to transcode them.
Frans Meijer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2011, 06:42 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Malibu, CA
Posts: 477
Re: Cineform Sony NEX support?

I've been having an AVCHD learning session with Cineform Firstlight Neo3D, and you can see what the issues and progress report is by looking at this thread
Cineform folks please respond - Neo3D issue

It can be done, but it's not a one-step procedure.
Bruce Schultz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 4th, 2011, 10:36 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,393
Re: Cineform Sony NEX support?

I've not used Neo Scene, but CF Neo 5.x will transcode Sony NEX VG 10 .m2ts files without any difficulty.
My Canon AVCHD cams also produce .m2ts files, and Neo handles them easily as well.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2012, 06:37 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,172
Re: Cineform Sony NEX support?

I was browsing the supported cameras on the cineform website and could not find the NEX5N or the NEX7. Can anyone confirm that it supports these cameras?
__________________
www.rafael-lopes.com
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2012, 06:05 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,172
Re: Cineform Sony NEX support?

I wrote cineform and their support has been helping me out. Basically I should use Neoscene to convert the NEX files and then installed GoPro Studio to get the Cineform Sequence Preset on Premiere.

Iīve tried this with CS5.5 and it works flawlessly but I cannot seem to make this work with CS6. The Cineform Sequence Preset just doesnīt show up.

From another computer Iīve notice that CS5.5 has CINEFORM on:
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS5.5\Settings\SequencePresets
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS5.5\Settings\Editing Modes

I donīt see it on CS6. Iīm not sure if there are any other missing files. These 2 just come to mind right now.

Iīve tried copying these files manually but it didnīt work either.

Any thoughts?
__________________
www.rafael-lopes.com
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 11:58 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,393
Re: Cineform Sony NEX support?

I'm using GoPro Studio Premium.
All of the CF presets (2D and 3D) show up in both my CS6 and CS5.x versions of PPro
I'm guessing that maybe GoPro Studio didn't install properly into your CS6.
Try uninstall/reinstall the CF software, if you haven't done so already
My workflow for the NEX 7, NEX VG 20, and the RX100 is to use the Sony PMB software to import the footage into my system.
Those files can then be imported onto a PPro standard AVCHD 1920x1080 timeline preset.
I've had no problems so far with native format edits.
If I'm doing a long/complicated project, I'll import the footage into my computer using Sony PMB, then convert to CF format using Cineform HD Link, and edit on the appropriate CF timeline preset.
__________________
Bob
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2012, 12:01 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro
Posts: 1,172
Re: Cineform Sony NEX support?

Itīs not that. Cineform support said they donīt know if Neoscene will ever support CS6. GoPro Studio Premium does support it, but I wanted Neoscene.
__________________
www.rafael-lopes.com
Rafael Lopes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

EVS
(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 




Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2014 The Digital Video Information Network