Converting MOV files from Phantom 4 pro by Cineform or GoPro Studio at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 15th, 2017, 04:53 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oceanside Ca
Posts: 128
Converting MOV files from Phantom 4 pro by Cineform or GoPro Studio

A few years ago I purchased Cineform to convert my Cannon 7D files from MOV to AVI to use in Vegas software. It worked great.

Now, I purchased a Phantom 4 Pro drone, filmed in MOV format (you get a choice, MOV or MP4) and cannot convert files to AVI using Cineform I purchased or using the free GoPro studio. When I try to convert both of these programs freeze.

I believe the codec options within Phantom 4 pro are H264 or H265. I think mine are set to 264.

Help!!!
Jeff Wisener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2017, 09:38 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LIncolnshire, UK
Posts: 2,106
Re: Converting MOV files from Phantom 4 pro by Cineform or GoPro Studio

Hi Jeff,

I am posting this because it could be related. I recently purchased a Yi 4K action cam to use with various other GoPros, Lumix cams etc. When I recorded various formats on the Yi 4k, they froze my editing programme immediately I hit play. Didn't matter whether the clips were 4k, 2.7k or 1080, they would all freeze.

I found that by removing the audio track, the video would play fine and it seems that the audio on the settings I was using was causing the problem. The camera had High, Medium and Low settings for each format and by switching to medium, the problem immediately disappeared. It may well be worth checking ift you are having a similar problem with the Phantom camera. Might be of no use to you but worth checking :-)

Roger
Roger Gunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2017, 08:43 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oceanside Ca
Posts: 128
Re: Converting MOV files from Phantom 4 pro by Cineform or GoPro Studio

Roger, thanks for the input. I turned off the option of audio recording on my drone so I am pretty sure that isn't the issue.
Jeff Wisener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2017, 02:39 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LIncolnshire, UK
Posts: 2,106
Re: Converting MOV files from Phantom 4 pro by Cineform or GoPro Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Wisener View Post
Roger, thanks for the input. I turned off the option of audio recording on my drone so I am pretty sure that isn't the issue.
It's just a thought, but turning the audio off at the camera didn't work on my camera as there was still a blank audio track there, it was only when I muted it on the time line or split the clip and removed it completely that it played. Apparently the higher level codec just wasn't readable by my editing programme. Even my LG tv refused to read it even though it plays back any other mp4 that I throw at it.

Roger
Roger Gunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2017, 03:28 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Kiev, Ukraine
Posts: 10
Re: Converting MOV files from Phantom 4 pro by Cineform or GoPro Studio

Maybe you can do the conversion with VirtualDub FilterMod https://sourceforge.net/projects/vdfiltermod
There is included decoder based on FFmpeg and it can use Cineform codec (vfw).
Anton Shekhovtsov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2017, 04:15 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 995
Re: Converting MOV files from Phantom 4 pro by Cineform or GoPro Studio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Wisener View Post
Help!!!
If you can find a copy, it was a free download, of ClipTools v2.0 this might get you out of trouble.

https://www.toolfarm.com/blog/entry/...olz_convert_v2

It didn't do Cineform but could batch convert to many other codecs and was a pretty useful little tool kit. It could even do 3840x2160 MPEG2 @ 50p which is highly unusual. I recall using it with H.264 input and outputting Avid DNcHD and ProRes with it.

EDIT:

Just tried it with some GH5 H.264 422 10-bit footage that was uploaded by Neumann Films and it even worked with that!

Chris Young
CYV Productions
Sydney

Last edited by Christopher Young; October 16th, 2017 at 04:19 AM. Reason: Added info
Christopher Young is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network