Aspect HD 3.4 now available for download at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 10th, 2005, 12:19 AM   #1
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Aspect HD 3.4 now available for download

Yes another free upgrade for Aspect HD users. The biggest new feature is Canon XL H1 24F/30F support. It seems again that we will have an exclusive on this for some time based on the competitor's slow rate of support for JVC 24p (added to Aspect HD 3.3 released 4 months ago.) Here is the list of new features (cut from the CineForm web page.)

Codec:
- quality enhancements that triggered the recently published quality analysis performed using Connect HD in Sony Vegas have all been rolled into Aspect HD v3.4. Details here : http://www.cineform.com/technology/H...ysis051011.htm
- upon uninstallation of Aspect HD, our decoder components (optionally) remain installed and active, allowing easy (and free) multiple-machine decoder installs.

Capture related:
- Batch capture with timecode supported for XL H1 and HD100U
- Batch capture now supports non-zero start timecodes
- Timecode extraction from HD100U streams now supported

Export-to-tape related:
- HD100U: both 24p and 25p exports now supported
- XL H1: 1080i and 1080p24 (pulldown added) exports
- Sony's HDR-HC1 and HVR-A1: now supported

24p modes:
- XL H1: Capture with pulldown removal yields 1080p24 progressive CineForm Intermediate files for pure 24p editing workflows
- HD100U: 24p capture already supported in Aspect HD v3.3 release
- 24p presets and editing modes supported for both the XL H1 and HD100U

25p preset added for HD100U

Standard definition 4:3 export now supported from 16:9 timeline (center crop) for DVD

For more information please visit : http://www.cineform.com/products/AspectHDPPro.htm
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2005, 08:15 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
David, how does the timing of features between aspect and prospect work?
So, when aspect is updated, does prospect get updated at the same time?
If so, how does on hear about the updates?

Thanks

Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2005, 08:21 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 58
David,

Thanks for the post. I see my camera has been added - the Sony HDR-HC1. I'll be ordering Aspect HD just as soon as my final piece comes in for the computer I'm building. I saw in another area you mentioned that the Adobe Video bundle can include Aspect HD for the price of the bundle alone - where can I get that bundle?

Thanks,

Joe Clark
Joseph Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 12:11 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Okemos, MI
Posts: 174
I just installed 3.4 (registered version) and see the version 3.4 on the splash screen when I start Premiere Pro. But when I open an existing file and click on the "Effects" tab, I get a message to the effect of: "Sorry, Premiere Pro has encountered a serious error and will try to save the project file", and then PP exits. I've tried creating a brand new project and have the exact same thing happen. When I return to the project later and again click on "Effects", the same results occur.

So it seems that I'm unable to use the upgrade! Unless you have some advice, I'm planning to reinstall Aspect HD completely and return to version 3.3... and soon!
Patricia Lamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 12:51 AM   #5
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Patricia, as the effects tab is a Premiere feature, not an Aspect HD feature, so it seems that Premiere might be needing a re-installed. I would un-install both Aspect HD 3.4 and Premiere Pro, then re-install Premiere Pro 1.5 (and 1.5.1 patch) and then install AHD 3.4. I have confirmed that Aspect HD is not causing any issue with the effects tab. One other thing to try is holding down the shift key while Premiere starts-up, this force Premiere to reloaded all plug-ins (the Premiere plug-in cache can sometimes (rare) be corrupted -- a re-installl will also fix that.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 12:59 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Campbell
David, how does the timing of features between aspect and prospect work?
Prospect HD and Connect HD will go through updates soon, mainly adding Canon XL H1 24F support. However, Prospect HD has some additional cool new features coming. Come back to cineform.com to look for update annoucements. I will likely announce on this forum also.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 01:13 AM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Joseph,

Aspect HD + Adobe Video Collection costs only the price of the full Adobe bundle, yes this is a great deal (that suprisingly few opt for.) Click on the "Buy Now!" button, and the new page will have this bundle as the 4th item listed.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 11:11 AM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
A new feature we forgot to add to the list: CineForm HD AVI exports are now threaded for even faster renders on dual processor or dual core PCs.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 12:45 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: MANILA Philippines
Posts: 117
Please, de-couple "Split scenes" for M2Ts and AVIs

I posted this as a wish a few versions ago. And you at Cineform answered that it was a sound suggestion.

To day you have only one choice, if you want do to it one pass: either you split AVIs AND M2Ts or NONE of them. Very often what makes sense is to capture the M2Ts as a whole And Split scenes for the CFHD AVIs only. Much easier to work with, much easier to archive, etc...

This would require FOUR lines of code at most and ONE extra control in the preferences panel. Please, do it !!!

Thanks.
Pierre Barberis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2005, 01:26 PM   #10
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I guess not many asked for that feature. We have a lot of feature requests in the queue, it is hard to prioritize small features over camera support (which we have been working flat-out on.) Most users don't keep the M2T data around, as for a back the original tape works for that. As for four lines of code, that is funny, I'm glad coding is not that simple, otherwise I might be out a job. :)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2005, 11:53 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Okemos, MI
Posts: 174
David, thanks for your response to my difficulties with the 3.4 installation. After reinstalling several things I finally figured out (many hours later) that I had a harddisk that was going bad. New disk, OS reinstall, and now everything (including 3.4) works fine. Thanks again...
Patricia Lamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2005, 03:21 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Quote: "upon uninstallation of Aspect HD, our decoder components (optionally) remain installed and active..."
--------------------------------

David, prompted by the above comment, and looking to the future, I have a general question: What are the quality implications of using a different-version encoder and decoder?

For example, if one were to edit footage encoded with version 3.4 on a different computer that had, say, only the version 3.2 decoder?
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2005, 10:50 AM   #13
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
That installer message is mainly for Aspect HD trial users who do not purchase but it have CineForm clips they may want to use. It is also an easy way to put the CineForm decoder on other PCs in you work-flow. Generally you want to keep your decoders up to date as a new encoder change could be incompatible with an older decoder. This is not the case with any of the recent updates but it has happened before. The v3.4 of Aspect HD does have more quality improvements but they are backwards compatible with recent older decoders.

David Newman
CTO, CineForm
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2005, 03:38 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
Thanks - good to know!
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network