Question about Vegas 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 7th, 2006, 12:57 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Question about Vegas 7

Now that Vegas 7 has been announced at IBC, have they improved the interface for Cineform?

They mention support for Cineform, and improved support for BlackMagic and Aja. Hoping the went beyond the old Video for Windows interface into Directshow, but thats not mentioned in the press release.
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2006, 01:08 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
There is a new Connect HD coming with some nice enhancements to HDLink and the codec, however it will not require Vegas 7.0 (but will work fine with 7.0.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2006, 01:11 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Thanks David, but will it finally be via DirectShow? In the past I've been told that DirectShow is the preferred interface for using Cineform even though you work with Vegas in the older format.
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2006, 01:20 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Still VFW.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2006, 01:22 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
They just lost my upgrade money. Time to start looking at Premier. drat.
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2006, 01:38 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Any hints on the enhancements to the codec David? Short of multithreading it, it's as close to perfect as I can imagine. Although maybe I've just not got much of an imagination ;)
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2006, 01:47 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Any possibility of cross grade price to Aspect?
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2006, 02:14 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Richard,

Codec is getting even higher quality, can you believe it? :)


Joe,

upgrade form Connect HD to Aspect HD is around $300 (basically we credit you today's Connect HD price as a down-payment on Aspect HD -- we do the same for Aspect HD to Prospect HD upgrades.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2006, 04:35 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Carney
They just lost my upgrade money. Time to start looking at Premier. drat.
Why is VFW vs. DirectShow such a big deal that you would dump your NLE (and all the experience and projects you've done) and start from scratch as a newbie with some other NLE? What is it about DirectShow that could possibly justify this?

The cost of going to PPro (plus all the addons you'd need) vs. a simple upgrade of Vegas is huge. I don't know, maybe you've got experience in PPro, but isn't it possible that you'd find something lacking in the other NLE that's a bigger deal than VFW?
Jay Hancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 7th, 2006, 07:12 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Hancock
Why is VFW vs. DirectShow such a big deal that you would dump your NLE (and all the experience and projects you've done) and start from scratch as a newbie with some other NLE? What is it about DirectShow that could possibly justify this?

The cost of going to PPro (plus all the addons you'd need) vs. a simple upgrade of Vegas is huge. I don't know, maybe you've got experience in PPro, but isn't it possible that you'd find something lacking in the other NLE that's a bigger deal than VFW?
It's a big deal as far as 3rd party support, which is increasingly based on DirectShow, OpenGL2 and/or DirectX 9 or newer.
I was just mad for a few minutes because of this.

I'm waiting for a complete review before making up my mind.

I already qualify for PP2 upgrade pricing, I already have AE 7 and Photoshop CS2, and even if I went to PP2, I would still use Vegas for audio mixing and recording and a few other things. This all has more to do with what I'm getting into this winter more than anything else. It's not that I want to give up Vegas.
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2006, 02:17 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Carney
It's a big deal as far as 3rd party support, which is increasingly based on DirectShow, OpenGL2 and/or DirectX 9 or newer.
I was just mad for a few minutes because of this.

I'm waiting for a complete review before making up my mind.
I think most of the Vegas plugins (effects, FXs, etc.) ARE DirectX based. Lots of third party plugins, too.
Jay Hancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2006, 03:01 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Hancock
Why is VFW vs. DirectShow such a big deal that you would dump your NLE (and all the experience and projects you've done) and start from scratch as a newbie with some other NLE? What is it about DirectShow that could possibly justify this?
I may be wrong, but if Vegas is exclusively using the VFW pipeline then on dual core and dual CPU systems, CineForm performance will be massively slower compared to its DirectShow equivalent. This would be because the VFW codec is single-threaded whereas the DirectShow components are multi-threaded.

I run 720p/60 footage from the timeline in Premiere Pro 2.0 and it's this huge lick of speed that makes CineForm files feel as though they're no more burdensome than normal DV.
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2006, 03:17 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Leadbetter
I may be wrong, but if Vegas is exclusively using the VFW pipeline then on dual core and dual CPU systems, CineForm performance will be massively slower compared to its DirectShow equivalent. This would be because the VFW codec is single-threaded whereas the DirectShow components are multi-threaded.

I run 720p/60 footage from the timeline in Premiere Pro 2.0 and it's this huge lick of speed that makes CineForm files feel as though they're no more burdensome than normal DV.
Are you talking about playback (only) or rendering?

Vegas does use VFW for rendering to CFDI. I run it on a dual core CPU and it takes full advantage of both cores. Those cores are doing a lot more than just writing file I/O via the codec. They are rendering effects, compositing, pan/crop/zoom, etc. Both CPU cores are pegged at 100% utilization throughout the process.
Jay Hancock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2006, 04:19 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Centreville Va
Posts: 1,828
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Hancock
I think most of the Vegas plugins (effects, FXs, etc.) ARE DirectX based. Lots of third party plugins, too.
It currently uses an outdated version (DX7). Madison has mentioned in the past they need to update the SDK. Since only a press release has come out, I'm just waiting for more info. No hurry.
__________________
Boycott Guinness, bring back the pint!!!
Joe Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2006, 01:49 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Jay: the VFW CineForm codec is single-threaded. Therefore the reading of the source files (ie where Vegas will get all its data to process) won't use your multiple cores. This is surely a fundamental speed disadvantage compared to Premiere Pro and Aspect HD, which does.

So it will affect both playback and rendering, surely?
__________________
Company Website: Digital Foundry Ltd
Video Games HD Blog: Digital Foundry@Eurogamer
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network