what should I do - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2007, 09:50 AM   #16
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 1,414
windows 64bit? or XP pro for PHD?

David, I have been running windows 32bit XP pro for PHD....do I gain anything from 64bit windows?
Obin Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2007, 11:51 AM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
I can't comment on PHD specifically but the video processing software I have tested on XP Pro SP2 and XP x64 does benefit from being on x64. This is true even though the applications are 32-bit.
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2007, 05:13 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
All I got from X64 were overall hassles, so I dumped and went back to XP.
(Still trying Vista also, but ...)

Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2007, 10:10 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Sorry for the lack of responses lately. David Newman and I are still at Sundance. We're back in the office Tuesday afternoon.

Re Win 64, there is no advantage at this point for PHD as we're a 32-bit app. There have been numerous driver problems with other pieces (outside PHD) that cause system instabilities, so most have not been successful.

Re Vista, we'll get on that shortly. We haven't yet done the port, although we don't anticipate too many problems. Hopefully February-ish for Vista.

Dave C, we know you love Vista. Give us a little bit longer....
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2007, 10:42 AM   #20
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
Thanks David, I understand. Was just teasing you guys. :o)

Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 03:44 PM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wilmington NC
Posts: 1,414
banding due to dvcproHD compression?

Hello guys when I see banding of colors on the sky in my cineform footage from the hvx is that from HDLink conversion or is it from the dvcproHD compressor?
Obin Olson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 03:52 PM   #22
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It is the DVCPRO-HD 8-bit source. When you encode to CineForm 10-bit you presevere everything in the source, if you still see banding that is the source.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network