1280X720p ... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Convergent Design Odyssey
...and other Convergent Design products.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 17th, 2009, 06:06 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
1280X720p ...

Did a shoot yesterday 1280X720-60p at 1/120 shutter and I can see scan lines in FCP ... any ideas on what's going on?
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 06:23 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Dean,

What was you setting for PSF-In or PSF>Prog?

These are the same thing, it just depends on what firmware you are using.

What firmware are you using?
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 06:30 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
Dan ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear Dean,

What was you setting for PSF-In or PSF>Prog?

These are the same thing, it just depends on what firmware you are using.

What firmware are you using?
I had PSF-in checked and the EX3 set up to shoot 60p as well. Both units were set exactly the same 1280X720-60p- 1/120 shutter. As a note, I didn't have this problem on another shoot were the shutter was off ... with the same settings.
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 07:25 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Dean,

I suggest that you run a test with PSF-In, unchecked.

Also, I recommend that you upgrade to our firmware version 1.1.154, but this should not make any difference with the symptoms you experience.

I believe that the problem was having PSF-In checked.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 07:47 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear Dean,

I suggest that you run a test with PSF-In, unchecked.

Also, I recommend that you upgrade to our firmware version 1.1.154, but this should not make any difference with the symptoms you experience.

I believe that the problem was having PSF-In checked.
Just checked again and I have Prog-PSF checked. I'm running firmware 1.1.154
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 08:01 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Dean,

For 720p, I recommend that you have this unchecked.

Please try it unchecked to see if the problem with the scan lines goes away.
I believe they will go away.

As far as I know, and subject to correction, there is no such thing as Progressive Segmented Frame in 720p, they are always true progressive, and thus PSF > Prog being checked would be inappropriate.

I know this is confusing and our PSF > Prog (which stands for Progressive Segmented Frame to Progessive) is also confusing. We will be changing this.

If we prove that unchecking this causes the scan lines to go away, then I will request that we do a better job and detect that the footage is 720p and ignore the PSF > Prog if it is checked.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2009, 08:21 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear Dean,

For 720p, I recommend that you have this unchecked.

Please try it unchecked to see if the problem with the scan lines goes away.
I believe they will go away.

As far as I know, and subject to correction, there is no such thing as Progressive Segmented Frame in 720p, they are always true progressive, and thus PSF > Prog being checked would be inappropriate.

I know this is confusing and our PSF > Prog (which stands for Progressive Segmented Frame to Progessive) is also confusing. We will be changing this.

If we prove that unchecking this causes the scan lines to go away, then I will request that we do a better job and detect that the footage is 720p and ignore the PSF > Prog if it is checked.
thanks Dan ... I've made the adjustment on that and now must correct the scan lines in FCP. If anyone knows a fast and easy way to do this ... I could use advice. I'm running FCP 7 if that helps.
Just a side note, on my last shoot I did not have this problem and PSF was not checked. Lesson learned.
all the best
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2009, 01:46 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
Dan ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Keaton View Post
Dear Dean,

For 720p, I recommend that you have this unchecked.

Please try it unchecked to see if the problem with the scan lines goes away.
I believe they will go away.

As far as I know, and subject to correction, there is no such thing as Progressive Segmented Frame in 720p, they are always true progressive, and thus PSF > Prog being checked would be inappropriate.

I know this is confusing and our PSF > Prog (which stands for Progressive Segmented Frame to Progessive) is also confusing. We will be changing this.

If we prove that unchecking this causes the scan lines to go away, then I will request that we do a better job and detect that the footage is 720p and ignore the PSF > Prog if it is checked.
I'm still in the middle of cleaning up the video ... it's been a bitch ... and will test this setting difference as soon as I get this project out the door.
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2009, 10:33 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Vientiane (Lao PDR)
Posts: 349
I may be wrong, but I think the psf doesn't affect to p720 at all.
the standard is p60 or p50. For interlacing monitoring, is read a field from each frame to get i60 or i50.
rafael
Rafael Amador is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 20th, 2009, 09:07 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
rafael ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rafael Amador View Post
I may be wrong, but I think the psf doesn't affect to p720 at all.
the standard is p60 or p50. For interlacing monitoring, is read a field from each frame to get i60 or i50.
rafael
Marty Welt had speculated (http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/converge...ml#post1462727) that AC, sound board, digi-phones, or some other frequency wave may have been the cause. I'm still not sure what caused this as the room seemed lit by tungsten bulbs. In any case, I've solved this problem to an acceptable level and I'm now in the process of rending. I hope to get this out today.
all the best
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > External Video Recording Solutions > Convergent Design Odyssey

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network