Was AE used to do this...? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 4th, 2008, 04:04 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 263
Was AE used to do this...?

Hello,

I currently have AE7 and wanted to know if AE was used to do the headshot images and titles spinning/floating in on the video here: http://www.earthquakeproductions.net/main.html

If so, did they use presets or simple rotation keyframes? Also, the title text looks to be 3D. How can I do this in AE7 (soon to be AE3)?

Thanks Much!
Troy
Troy Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 05:01 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 1,116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy Davis View Post
If so, did they use presets or simple rotation keyframes? Also, the title text looks to be 3D. How can I do this in AE7 (soon to be AE3)?
The spinning can be done simply by roto the subject, turn the layer to a 3D layer and then rotating on the Y axis.
The titles were probably made with ZaxWerks' ProAnimator, excellent package, worth every penny. See http://www.zaxwerks.com
__________________
Paolo http://www.paolociccone.com
Demo Reel
Paolo Ciccone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 06:00 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 315
I think there's a plug-in for AE called 3D invigorator that can produce 3D text within AE. You can also use BorisFX's Boris Red or Blue for 3D text as well, or a full-blown 3D modeling/animation package if you're feeling adventurous!
Shawn McCalip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2008, 06:11 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Raleigh,NC
Posts: 263
Thanks guys. I actually have ZW's package, but find it difficult to sync w/ AE. I'm sure with more practice I can make it work.
Troy Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 10:33 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
The video doesn't work for me, but if you are looking for text presets look in the bridge! You can access it in after effects up top somewhere, animation>animation presets (I think, I don't remember exactly)
The bridge will open, and you can select text transitions where you'll find lots of crazy little animations to apply to your text layer.
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2008, 07:53 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,414
Here you go....

http://www.motionworks.com.au/traini...ning_video.htm
Ray Bell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2008, 01:40 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 56
The video looks like something done in Motion rather than AE.
__________________
Brian Keith Moody, Writer / Director
Canon XH-A1 - PowerMac G5 - Final Cut Pro - Shake
Brian Keith Moody is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:39 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network