slowmo and jitter at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Digital Compositing and Effects
After Effects, Shake and everything else.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 12th, 2007, 09:59 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Yaad, Galilee
Posts: 117
slowmo and jitter

Hi, I tried this slomo technique http://rarevision.com/articles/slow_motion.php
it worked very well but I got flickering.
Should I do anything in the process to eliminate this flickering?
Thanks
Sassi
You can see a sample here http://stage6.divx.com/user/sasi_yaa...ONEY-BUZZARD-2
the clip shows migrating raptors.
that is a 17MB file on stage6 so you will need a Divx codec (available for download there).
Sassi Haham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 08:55 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 261
The jitter on the top and bottom is something that can happen. Depending on what program you use there are ways to eliminate it. I do my slow mo renders in after effects and it has a simple check box to interpolate lines and fix the problem. If you wanna do it low tech just scale it up a bit. Like 2% bigger. Shouldn't be an issue.

Have fun
Alan James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 12th, 2007, 11:30 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Yaad, Galilee
Posts: 117
check box

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan James View Post
I do my slow mo renders in after effects and it has a simple check box to interpolate lines and fix the problem.
Thanks Alan, where in the process I find this check box ?
Sassi Haham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2007, 12:17 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 261
Here is a really good explanation I have written up before about the subject.

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...hlight=slow+mo

If your using After Effects 7 it should be pretty easy to follow.

Have fun
Alan James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2007, 02:11 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Yaad, Galilee
Posts: 117
Thanks again,
This is exactly what I (think) have done.
Does the "preserve edges" check box eliminate the flicker?
Sassi
Sassi Haham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2007, 07:55 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 261
Yeah, its suppose to. It interpolates scan lines. Should clear it up. I have found that at time I still get a little jitter though, but not nearly as much as you had in ur comp. So if you still see jitter another solution is to apply a 2 pixel vertical directional blur to your comp. You will loose some detail, but the detail is what is causing the jitter. Unfortunately using this method there are always trade offs.
Alan James is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > Digital Compositing and Effects

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network