MOTU has announced V3HD, firewire DVCPROHD/Audio I/O at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Digital Video Industry News
Events, press releases, bulletins and dispatches from the DV world at large.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 6th, 2007, 11:32 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
MOTU has announced V3HD, firewire DVCPROHD/Audio I/O

Mark of the Unicorn, Inc., Cambridge MA based renown music software/hardware company has announced V3HD, the ultimate firewire video/audio interface unit.

http://www.v3hd.com/

For video production, it works with Mac/Final Cut Pro and Windows/Premiere Pro and supports DVCPRO HD/DVCPRO 50/DVCPRO format. For audio production, it works with any coreaudio compatible apps for Mac (for windows I will report later).

The highlights are that it comes with all of the video ins and outs along with MOTU’s renown digital/analog audio ins and outs, synchronization features and some stand along routing features for video and audio with bundled console software applications.

I will give more reports as soon as I’m allowed to, along with some usage reports on HPX555 and HVX200.

Kaku Ito/Musetex
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2007, 11:39 AM   #2
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Very impressive. I'm looking forward to trying it out, when it's available.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2007, 04:21 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 418
Almost like an avid adrenaline for fcp and prem, without the hardware acceleration.

No uncompressed hd.. guess thats fine, DVCPROhd is great, and its still got uncompressed, shame theres no HDMI in for those with HDMI output via their cams. Component HD is handy however if your using an hdv device with it, and no hdv editing either, Nice.

Definitely one to keep an eye on. Wonder what price range it will fall into.

Last edited by Joe Lawry; June 6th, 2007 at 05:37 PM.
Joe Lawry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2007, 05:23 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 411
It only mentions DVCPRO HD/DVCPRO 50/DVCPRO. What if you're working with straight HDV? Would this offer a simple solution for capturing 24p from a V1?
Mark OConnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 12:11 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
I will check on the HDV, I did ask for it when they were designing it, tho.
It does clearly says that it does uncompressed 10-bit SD with every frame format.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 04:28 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
interesting Kaku ...

Very interesting interface! Give us more!
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 05:09 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
I will.

Also, Dean, by the time I receive the HPX, I will have a broadcast HD lens to test out, so I will let you know.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 09:32 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,719
This sounds very much like the AJA IO HD except that it doesn't do ProRes. The IO HD also use firewire 800 for the system connection and therefore can do uncompressed SD. ProRes is a much much better codec when compared to DVCPROHD. For a device that will cost as much as I'm sure this will cost I would have liked to see support for a little bit better of a codec such as Cineform, mpeg I frame only up to 300mbits/s or even a jpeg based codec.

I think in terms of quality coming from an uncompressed source people would get much higher quality by using the IO HD since it is a native ProRes device. DVCPROHD is starting to get a little old and it isn't the first choice when it comes to quality.

Other than that this seems like a great device but they really need to add better codec support for the highend people who will be using it. By this time next year when ProRes has been out for awhile people will ask "DVCPROHD who?"
Thomas Smet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 10:33 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 42
There will still be people not using ProRes for a while as ProRes only works with Intel Macs and alot of people are still on PPC G5's.

Motu makes solid audio products for very good prices so hopefully this will come in at something very affordable.

Regarding the IO HD, it's a great product but at $3500 not cheap for the one man shops who are buying gear out of their own pockets.

Motu's entry into video hardware could be quite interesting. Perhaps they have some software coming as well.
Their audio hardware is top notch. Digital Performer is used by many composers for scoring film, television and music.
Their software instruments like Symphonic Instrument and Ethno Instrument are great.
Gary L Childress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2007, 06:16 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaku Ito View Post
I will.

Also, Dean, by the time I receive the HPX, I will have a broadcast HD lens to test out, so I will let you know.
Can't wait ... will be on a shoot next week out of town ... back on the 16th. See you when it comes together!
Dean Harrington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 08:46 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
The price of V3HD will be something like $2950.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2007, 09:10 PM   #12
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
My friend is using ProRes 422 on a Power Mac G5. It's compatible for both to convert (I want to try it on a Power Mac G5 non-quad) and only Quad Mac Pros and the Powr Mac G5 Quad when capturing/converting with the ioHD.

http://www.apple.com/finalcutstudio/...ovie=prores422

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2007, 09:46 AM   #13
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Btw, to be a little more specific about my post, I was talking about using ProRes 422 with a Power Mac G5 Quad, not just an Intel system.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2007, 11:49 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
B&H to post a review on V3HD

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/find/new.../MOTU-V3HD.jsp
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 01:22 PM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 21
Anyone used this box yet? I'm looking for something that can convert a wide variety of video formats to and from each other. Another thing I'm having a hard time figuring out by reading the specs is whether or not it will accept 1080i60.
Bob Armstrong is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The DV Info Network > Digital Video Industry News

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network