FCP just started dropping frames?! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Final Cut Suite
Discussing the editing of all formats with FCS, FCP, FCE

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 9th, 2007, 05:31 PM   #1
Major Player
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Boston, Massachusetts
Posts: 616
FCP just started dropping frames?!

I have a powerbook w/ 2gigs of ram and final cut 5.0.4. I haven't used it in a long time and I just went to play some of my HDV footage and it drops frames every second. I'm sure that I used to be able to use final cut, I've seen this footage a million times, but it just stopped working. I'm going to try whatever I can think of, but it's not complicated (I open the project and press play) what could have went wrong?
Aric Mannion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 09:02 AM   #2
New Boot
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 23
Could be spotlight causing problems. As I understand it, spotlight logs all your documents, even photos and film. In doing so it puts markers or tags on the material causing it to freeze or drop frames.
Spotless might be the thing for you:


Peter Wittinghoff is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Apple / Mac Post Production Solutions > Final Cut Suite

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:22 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network